• $5.99

Publisher Description

A heartwarming and humorous insight into the hopes and aspirations of Iranians in the years that led up to the Islamic Revolution

Deep in an Iranian suburb, made rich by the booming oil industry, Clarice Ayvazian lives a comfortable life surrounded by the gentle bickering of her children and her gossiping friends and relatives. Happy being at the heart of her family, she devotes herself to their every need. But when an enigmatic Armenian family move in across the street, something begins to gnaw at Clarice's contentment: a feeling that there may be more to life – and to her – than this. Dizzy with the sweltering heat and simmering emotions, Clarice begins to feel herself come alive to possibilities previously unimaginable.

Set in Iran prior to the Islamic revolution, Zoya Pirzad's award-winning novel is perfect for fans of Anne Tyler, crafting an intimate portrait of family life – its joys and its compromises – and how we find a happiness that endures.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2012
May 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Oneworld Publications
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
5
MB

More Books by Zoyâ Pirzâd

2014
2019
2016
2015
2014