Everything Is Fine

A Memoir

    • 4.6 • 44 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

Grief, mental illness, and the bonds of family are movingly explored in this extraordinary memoir “suffused with emotional depth and intellectual inquiry” (Rachel Louise Snyder, author of No Visible Bruises) as a writer delves into the tragedy of his mother’s violent death at the hands of his brother who struggled with schizophrenia. Perfect for fans of An Unquiet Mind and The Bright Hour.

Vince Granata remembers standing in front of his suburban home in Connecticut the day his mother and father returned from the hospital with his three new siblings in tow. He had just finished scrawling their names in red chalk on the driveway: Christopher, Timothy, and Elizabeth.

Twenty-three years later, Vince was a thousand miles away when he received the news that would change his life—Tim, propelled by unchecked schizophrenia, had killed their mother in their childhood home. Devastated by the grief of losing his mother, Vince is also consumed by an act so incomprehensible that it overshadows every happy memory of life growing up in his seemingly idyllic middle-class family.

“In candid, smoothly unspooling prose, Granata reconstructs life and memory from grief, writing a moving testament to the therapy of art, the power of record, and his immutable love for his family” (Booklist).

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2021
April 27
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atria Books
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
4.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Rellla🍭🍭 ,

An extremely important message

Mr. Granada deserves a great deal of praise for sharing such a personal story. His ability to balance his compassion for his brother and his love for his mother is truly amazing. Here’s hoping more people will feel comfortable bringing the challenges of their mental illness to light so that we can all learn how to better deal with it and ultimately prevent heartache and tragedy.

schoenbergersm ,

Beautiful

And tragic.

Annada03 ,

Wonderful book

amazing book. Very well written.

Customers Also Bought

2013
2022
2022
2020
2022
2016