Lost in Paris

    • 4.4 • 49 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

“A luscious, layered story of inheritance, heartbreak, reinvention, and family. I adored this book.” —Kristan Higgins, New York Times bestselling author

When a deed to an apartment in Paris turns up in an old attic trunk, an estranged mother and daughter must reunite to uncover the secret life of a family matriarch—perfect for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Beekeeper’s Daughter.

Hannah Bond has always been a bookworm, which is why she fled Florida—and her unstable, alcoholic mother—for a quiet life leading Jane Austen-themed tours through the British countryside. But on New Year’s Eve, everything comes crashing down when she arrives back at her London flat to find her mother, Marla, waiting for her.

Marla’s brought two things with her: a black eye from her ex-boyfriend and an envelope. Its contents? The deed to an apartment in Paris, an old key, and newspaper clippings about the death of a famous writer named Andres Armand. Hannah, wary of her mother’s motives, reluctantly agrees to accompany her to Paris, where against all odds, they discover great-grandma Ivy’s apartment frozen in 1940 and covered in dust.

Inside the apartment, Hannah and Marla discover mysterious clues about Ivy’s life—including a diary detailing evenings of drinking and dancing with Hemingway, the Fitzgeralds, and other iconic expats. Outside, they retrace her steps through the city in an attempt to understand why she went to such great lengths to hide her Paris identity from future generations.

A heartwarming and charming saga set in the City of Lights, Lost in Paris is an unforgettable celebration of family and the love between a mother and a daughter.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
April 13
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Gallery Books
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
7.4
MB

Customer Reviews

ShannKL ,

Wonderful story on Family!

“…Sure, we still have our ups and downs like most mothers and daughters, but the one thing on which we always agree is that getting lost in Paris our first day was the start of not only finding ourselves, but finding our way to each other.”

A mysterious key takes a mother and daughter to Paris to unearth the secrets they never knew existed. The key opens the door to an apartment frozen in time from the 1940’s. The apartment is the love nest for their great grandma Ivy and her beau Andres Armand.

Together, they begin to retrace a life that was never shared with them from the diaries Ivy leaves behind in the apartment. Why did Ivy go to such great lengths to conceal her time Paris? Who Andres Armand? How did no one know about this apartment for all these years?

Lost is Paris is a heartwarming and charming tale of family, discovering lost love and finding new ways to move forward with forgiveness.

Historical fiction - Women’s fiction
Publication date - April 13, 2021
Thank you NetGalley for an ARC for an honest review.

Rockabilly Lilly ,

Word Candy for Paris Dreamers

This is a must read for anyone who has been to Paris and is in love with La Ville-Lumière (‘The City of Light’). It is also a story of the warp and weft woven between mothers and daughters in the web of that very special, sometimes uniquely strained, relationship. It is a delightful read and perfect for curling up on a winters weekend or sunning afternoons on a beach. You will be enthralled.
Best lines are when walking on the Left Bank along the Seine, the mother and daughter discuss UNESCO world heritage designations and bouquinistes. The less educated, lovely mother mistakes “UNESCO” for Costco and “bouquinistes” for for bookanistas, querying “Are they the nerdy sisters of the fashionistas?” Those pages were truly and literally laugh out loud word candy! I will be sharing this book with my daughter, my mother and girlfriends to enjoy.

Seriouslynot? ,

Reads like a teen novel

All happily ever after, rainbows, butterflies and unicorn farts. I would guess the author is big with 16 year olds. Totally unrealistic, waste of money. But if I shed it, so 2 stars for that.

More Books by Elizabeth Thompson

2021
2003
1999