• $11.99

Publisher Description

“Immediate, intense, gripping, taut, terrifying, moving, and brilliant.” —Lisa Jewell, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Invisible Girl

“Brilliantly written...terrifying.”—Ruth Ware, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One by One

A woman being held captive is willing to risk everything to save herself, her unborn child, and her captor’s latest victim in this “intense, dark, and utterly chilling” (Jennifer Hillier, author of ​Jar of Hearts) thriller in the tradition of Misery and Room.

He is her husband. She is his captive.

Her husband calls her Jane. That is not her name.

She lives in a small farm cottage, surrounded by vast, open fields. Everywhere she looks, there is space. But she is trapped. No one knows she is there. Visitors rarely come to the farm; if they do, she is never seen.

Her husband records her every movement during the day. If he doesn’t like what he sees, she is punished.

For a long time, escape seemed impossible. But now, something has changed. She has a reason to live and a reason to fight. Now, she is watching him, and waiting…

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
April 20
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
256
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atria/Emily Bestler Books
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
5.2
MB

Customer Reviews

Mac-Chick ,

Heartbreaking, Yet Wonderful

The human spirit is an amazing thing; full of wonder and respect. And what people are capable of, whether fighting for life, or abusing others, is no less than heart-stomping. It’s a 2021 favorite for me.

Jane believes she is heading toward a better life, leaving Vietnam, and heading to the UK. Crossing in boats and trucks is a long, arduous process. But where and what she ends up with is what nightmares are made of.

She is held captive by a hog farmer, who considers her his wife, bought and paid for. Her life is dehumanized, she is beaten, tortured and maimed. Yet her so-called life goes on.

There are things beyond her control and one of these situations change her life in an instant. And here the pathway to survival narrows, so it is barely seen.

This is an awesome read. I love the writing that lulled me in deeper. It’s a poignant story, outlining the best and worst in the world. And here my friends is where I leave you.

This is a not-to be-missed book, providing you can handle physical and emotional abuse.

More Books by Will Dean

2019
2017
2022
2020
2019
2019