Kiss Her Once for Me

A Novel

    • 4.0 • 11 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

A Best New Holiday Romance by PopSugar, BuzzFeed, Refinery29, and more!

The author of the “swoon-worthy debut” (Harper’s Bazaar) The Charm Offensive returns with a festive romantic comedy about a woman who fakes an engagement with her landlord…only to fall for his sister.


One year ago, recent Portland transplant Ellie Oliver had her dream job in animation and a Christmas Eve meet-cute with a woman at a bookstore that led her to fall in love over the course of a single night. But after a betrayal the next morning and the loss of her job soon after, she finds herself adrift, alone, and desperate for money.

Finding work at a local coffee shop, she’s just getting through the days—until Andrew, the shop’s landlord, proposes a shocking, drunken plan: a marriage of convenience that will give him his recent inheritance and alleviate Ellie’s financial woes and isolation. They make a plan to spend the holidays together at his family cabin to keep up the ruse. But when Andrew introduces his new fiancée to his sister, Ellie is shocked to discover it’s Jack—the mysterious woman she fell for over the course of one magical Christmas Eve the year before. Now, Ellie must choose between the safety of a fake relationship and the risk of something real.

Perfect for fans of Written in the Stars and One Day in December, Kiss Her Once for Me is the queer holiday rom-com that you’ll want to cozy up with next to the fire.

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2022
November 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atria Books
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
4.5
MB

Customer Reviews

i<3finn ,

luv it

I really really liked this book, a few parts had me shifting around in my seat. The only issue i have with the book is that it seemed very millennial to me, very "im gay and that is my ENTIRE personality", the book made being queer seem cutesy and that was just not the vibe for me. HOWEVER, i did REALLY like the simultaneous falling in love with Jack and learning how to stop expecting failure thing. I thought it was really nice that Ellie learned a lesson and after that decided to try to make herself a better person. Most romances are just that.. romance, but it was surprisingly refreshing to see Ellie try to be better even when she didnt get what she wanted. Also, the end was a bit weird, there was a lack of consistency there, i feel like by the end Alison was ready to finish and publish the book so it all seemed very out of place. Jack turning Ellie down and then chasing after her? it was just - odd? The Kim family was written very well i think, except for Alan, the dad? such a strange and out of place man, ANYWHO, if you want to read a refreshing new gay story, this is it. Some of the parts you might just have to power through, i promise its worth it though :D

Zetta-Blue ,

I read the whole thing didn’t I

It was good but not great. I skipped around a bit and some parts were a bit laughable. It was like if a hallmark movie was written into a book.

My biggest problem with it was that being queer seemed to be a quirky character trait.

But I did read the whole thing and was invested to see the ending.

More Books by Alison Cochrun

2021
2022
2022