• $9.99

Publisher Description

It’s 1965, Los Angeles. All twelve-year-old Sophie wants to do is write her book, star in the community play, and hang out with her friend Jennifer. But she’s the new black kid in a nearly all-white neighborhood; her beloved sister, Lily, is going away to college soon; and her parents’ marriage is rocky. There’s also her family’s new, disapproving housekeeper to deal with. When riots erupt in nearby Watts and a friend is unfairly arrested, Sophie learns that life—and her own place in it—is even more complicated than she’d once thought.
      Leavened with gentle humor, this story is perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2017
July 11
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
HMH Books
SELLER
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
SIZE
4.4
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 5-7

More Books by Karen English