Lalani of the Distant Sea Lalani of the Distant Sea

Lalani of the Distant Sea

    • 5.0 • 8 Ratings
    • $7.99
    • $7.99

Publisher Description

“Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read.”—Kirkus (starred review)

“A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder.”—Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal–winning author of When You Reach Me

Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is a gorgeous, literary adventure about bravery, friendship, self-reliance, and the choice between accepting fate or forging your own path.

When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls ill with an incurable disease, Lalani embarks on a dangerous journey across the sea in the hope of safeguarding her own future. Inspired by Filipino folklore, this engrossing fantasy is for readers who loved Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon and Disney’s Moana.

Life is difficult on the island of Sanlagita. To the west looms a vengeful mountain, one that threatens to collapse and bury the village at any moment. To the north, a dangerous fog swallows sailors who dare to venture out, looking for a more hospitable land. And what does the future hold for young girls? Chores and more chores.

When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls gravely ill, twelve-year-old Lalani faces an impossible task—she must leave Sanlagita and find the riches of the legendary Mount Isa, which towers on an island to the north. But generations of men and boys have died on the same quest—how can an ordinary girl survive the epic tests of the archipelago? And how will she manage without Veyda, her best friend?

Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is inspired by Filipino folklore and is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, courage, and identity. Perfect for fans of Lauren Wolk’s Beyond the Bright Sea and Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon. 

GENRE
Kids
RELEASED
2019
September 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Greenwillow Books
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
16.2
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 3-7

More Books Like This

The Girl Who Drank the Moon The Girl Who Drank the Moon
2017
The Moorchild The Moorchild
2013
The Whispering Trees The Whispering Trees
2015
Dragon Slayers Dragon Slayers
2020
Dragon Curse Dragon Curse
2019
Aru Shah and the End of Time Aru Shah and the End of Time
2018

More Books by Erin Entrada Kelly

Hello, Universe Hello, Universe
2017
We Dream of Space We Dream of Space
2020
Blackbird Fly Blackbird Fly
2015
You Go First You Go First
2018
The Land of Forgotten Girls The Land of Forgotten Girls
2016
Hello, Universe Hello, Universe
2020

Customers Also Bought