Last Night in the OR Last Night in the OR

Last Night in the OR

A Transplant Surgeon's Odyssey

    • 3.9 • 42 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

For readers of Henry Marsh's Do No Harm, Paul A. Ruggieri's Confessions of a Surgeon, and Atul Gawande's Better, a pioneering surgeon shares memories from a life in one of surgery’s most demanding fields

The 1980s marked a revolution in the field of organ transplants, and Bud Shaw, M.D., who studied under Tom Starzl in Pittsburgh, was on the front lines. Now retired from active practice, Dr. Shaw relays gripping moments of anguish and elation, frustration and reward, despair and hope in his struggle to save patients. He reveals harshly intimate moments of his medical career: telling a patient's husband that his wife has died during surgery; struggling to complete a twenty-hour operation as mental and physical exhaustion inch closer and closer; and flying to retrieve a donor organ while the patient waits in the operating room. Within these more emotionally charged vignettes are quieter ones, too, like growing up in rural Ohio, and being awakened late at night by footsteps in the hall as his father, also a surgeon, slipped out of the house to attend to a patient in the ER.

In the tradition of Mary Roach, Jerome Groopman, Eric Topol, and Atul Gawande, Last Night in the OR is an exhilarating, fast-paced, and beautifully written memoir, one that will captivate readers with its courage, intimacy, and honesty.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2015
September 15
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
1.2
MB

More Books Like This

The Nurse's Story The Nurse's Story
2010
Condition Critical Condition Critical
2014
The Unfeeling Wannabe Surgeon: A Med School Memoir The Unfeeling Wannabe Surgeon: A Med School Memoir
2012
My Foreign Cities: A Memoir My Foreign Cities: A Memoir
2013
Intern Intern
2007
Tales of a Country Doctor Tales of a Country Doctor
2014

Customers Also Bought

Good Times In the Hospital Good Times In the Hospital
2013
Miracles and Mayhem in the ER Miracles and Mayhem in the ER
2013
Trauma Trauma
2011
Just Here Trying to Save a Few Lives Just Here Trying to Save a Few Lives
2008
The Surgeons: Life and Death in a Top Heart Center The Surgeons: Life and Death in a Top Heart Center
2008
On Call On Call
2005