• $14.99

Publisher Description

Before Dawn, What Dangers Lurk in the Darkness?

For nine months, since a devastating solar flare caused a complete failure of the electrical grid, Shelby Sparks and her diabetic son, Carter, have been living at the ranch of Shelby's high school sweetheart, Max Berkman.

Mostly insulated from the chaos surrounding them, Shelby and Max discover that the Texas government has fled the capitol and is barely maintaining control of the state. The governor needs volunteers to search for the new federal government, but no one knows exactly where it might be located—if it even still exists—or what perils await those brave enough to take on the mission.

Compelled by Carter's desperate need for insulin and their God-given sense of duty, Shelby and Max answer the governor's call and set out on a treacherous 600-mile journey, where they will experience the terrifying effects of unrestrained anarchy. If they have the faith and fortitude necessary to reach their destination, what will they find when they get there?

In this thrilling conclusion to the Remnant trilogy, America is left teetering between total collapse and the dawn of a new and vastly different reality.

Fiction & Literature
June 27
Harvest House Publishers
INscribe Digital

Customer Reviews

Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader ,

Conclusion to The Remnant series!

Light of Dawn by Vannetta Chapman is the conclusion to The Remnant series. Shelby Sparks along with her son, Carter are living at High Fields owned by Max Berkman's parents. Carter slowly recovered from his severe injuries, and the group had won the war against the Cavanaughs. Life in a post flare world is not easy, and they live a day to day existence. Max would like his relationship with Shelby to evolve, but she is not ready to let him in. Shelby is concerned about finding more insulin for Carter since his current supply will only last another three months. One day Patrick Goodnight and Bianca Lopez show up at High Fields. They were not expecting them for another three months. Patrick has received a mission from Governor Reed and he would like their assistance. Governor Reed is sending scouts out to every state to locate the federal government which has not been heard from since the flare. Patrick along with Gabe Thompson are heading to Kansas. Max, Shelby, Bianca, Lanh, and Carter agree to go with Patrick and Gabe on this perilous quest. It is a six-hundred-mile journey that will be fraught will hazards that will test each of them. These seven people will need to be strong in character and faith to complete their journey and return home safely.

Light of Dawn is a well-written novel that captured and held my interest from the very beginning. Light of Dawn is the third book in the series (not including the prequel Overshadowed) and they need to be read in order. Overshadowed sets the stage for what occurs in Deep Shadows. The novels in The Remnant series build upon each other. The story contains characters that are very real. We get to see how they adapt to their new lives while keeping their faith. I give Light of Dawn 5 out of 5 stars. They only thing I wanted to see was Shelby growing/developing over the course of the series (not just at the end of series). She adapted to the new way of life, but she never forgot Carter's need for insulin. I know how important it was for her to keep her son alive and healthy (and they needed the insulin to achieve that goal). But it seemed to be her sole focus. I would have started researching homeopathic and Native remedies from the beginning (grab the books before people took them for fuel—smart, but makes me just cringe at the thought). It would have been nice to see the romance between Max and Shelby grow throughout the series. Otherwise, Light of Dawn is well-crafted and leaves the reader thinking how would they handle a situation similar to that in The Remnant series. It makes me want to start stockpiling items (especially toilet paper, chocolate, books and soda—necessities of life). Light of Dawn mentioned some interesting new technologies that I want to investigate further. Vannetta Chapman created a book (actually, a series) that will have people talking!

More Books by Vannetta Chapman

Other Books in This Series