• $12.99

Publisher Description

"Unforgettable."—The New York Times
"Lyrical and atmospheric." —Bustle
"A satiating psychological horror tale." —Cultured Vultures

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE

APRIL 2019 LIBRARY READS PICK

“Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Grimms’ Fairy Tales, and Aimee Molloy's The Perfect Mother.


Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they’re right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she’s never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own…creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she’s imagining things.

A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren’s side in a park. But when they’re found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley—to everyone else. But to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates their return, Lauren begins to scream, These are not my babies.

Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she’s wrong about what she saw…she’ll be making the biggest mistake of her life.

Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some of our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking—and rechecking—your own little ones. Just to be sure. Just to be safe.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2019
April 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
Crooked Lane Books
SELLER
Perseus Books, LLC
SIZE
3
MB

Customer Reviews

Lisa Bateman ,

Very original

As other reviewers are saying, this was one creepy book. I have mixed feelings about it, both good and bad. While I hate to leave negative feedback, I have to say that I feel the book is overrated. It started out so good. I couldn’t put it down. Then as it progressed, my mind started wondering. Any mother will relate to the beginning when the main character gives birth then how she is so exhausted but never sleeps the same again because of worrying about the babies still breathing or someone taking them. But to top it off, someone, or rather SOMETHING, is trying to take her babies before she even leaves the hospital! The nurses all say no one was in there and she still has the same babies she gave birth to. This book blends real life drama with fairy tales. I love stories about changlings and that touch on this book seems so real. It’s a grown up fairy tale touch. All through the book, the reader doesn’t know what is real or what is imagined. Who to believe or trust or if the mother is crazy. The husband was odd. His character was ok but after the first half he was sort of bland and one dimensional. Because of the last half not holding my interest as much and mainly because I hated the ending, I gave it three stars. I hope the movie is a lot better.

Thank you so much to Crooked Lane Books and NetGalley for the opportunity of reading this early.

More Books by Melanie Golding