Book 3 - Blue Hills

Long Walk Home

A totally heartwarming feel-good romance

    • 4.0 • 18 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

Lola recognized him straight away. After ten long years of telling herself that maybe she hadn't really loved him—there he was. And straight away she knew she wanted him still.

 

Lola Alvarez loves working in the restaurant of Blue Hills, her family’s winery, looking out over vine-covered slopes down to the crystal-blue waters of the lake. But she is also determined to make her own mark on the business—to show her older sister Carmen that she’s not the same flighty teen she used to be.


Her plan to build gorgeous vacation cabins in the mountain meadow above the winery will be the perfect addition to Blue Hills, even if she has to go behind Carmen’s back to make her dream a reality. When Carmen sees how popular they are she’ll have to come round—right?


But then Gus Weaver comes back to town. Gus was her first love, the bad boy she used to climb out of windows to see. But he’d broken her heart when he left town suddenly, without so much as a goodbye. After that, she’d never seen him again.


Until now. As fate intervenes and they’re forced to work together on Lola’s project, sparks start to fly between them once again. But he’s led her astray before. Can Lola keep her mind on what she truly wants, when her heart—and the way it beats faster every time she looks into Gus’s blue eyes—is telling her something very different?


An utterly romantic feel-good read about being true to yourself and becoming the person you were always meant to be, Long Walk Home will make you laugh, make you cry and show you that true love always finds a way. For fans of Robyn Carr, Carolyn Brown and Mary Ellen Taylor.


Readers love Ellyn Oaksmith:

I just couldn’t resist… A beautiful summer romance read which I have absolutely adoredFilled with moments to make you laugh out loud… a perfect, light and easy read to devour whilst sat in the sun… I absolutely recommend this book. It is so highly deserving of five stars.” Little Miss BookLover 87, 5 stars


“I was completely hooked and I ended up reading the entirety in one evening… it is perfect along with a glass of wine in the late evening sun.” Goodreads reviewer


I adored itMade my eyes well up and my heart melt… A wonderful story… Sit back and enjoy this fabulous book.  You will not regret it, believe me.’ B for Bookreview, 5 stars


I loved it… A charming and heartwarming romance and family tale. Many laughs, a few tears… A delight from beginning to end.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“A magical tale… I loved these characters, loved reading about their lives and ordeals, and I thoroughly enjoyed how it all played out.” Oyindamola Adeoti

 

Sure to go down a treat with fans of Robyn Carr’s Virgin River.Bookish Jottings


Rich in friendship, family, and especially love. Add the many LOL moments… and you get a truly superb feel-good love story. Delightful characters, beautiful settings, wine, wine, wine, and a HEA. What more could you ask for?The Eclectic Review

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
April 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
339
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
Carmelite House
SIZE
3.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Moosech ,

Phenomenal Second chance romance

This is the third and final installment in the Blue Hills series. This book can be read as part of the series or as a standalone novel. I loved returning back to Blue Hills in the wine country and what an escape it was.

Lola is the youngest daughter in the family and is living at home with her dad and sister in Lake Chelan, Washington. She is a cook in her family’s restaurant but has aspirations for so much more. Lola writes her Blue Hills Winery blog where she posts her dreams and future plans for the family winery and restaurant. She wants to build tiny cabins at the winery, but her older sister Carmen says that will not happen anytime soon. But when her first love, and high school sweetheart Gus, returns to Chelan, after being gone for ten years, her whole world is turned upside down. Gus broke her heart once before, but they have a second chance at their happily ever after. He has a changed a lot in ten years and is not the same person he was when he left. Gus is also a building contractor, is he the one that is that will help Lola achieve her dreams, or will he once again break her heart?

Ellyn Oaksmith is so descriptive in her writing. She describes her characters in such a way that you feel like you know each one personally. This engaging and heart warming story is so inspiring and full of second chances, it is a must read. It will have you flipping through the pages so fast, you will find yourself experiencing all the emotions with this one. This is a fantastic end to a wonderful series.

penny42058 ,

Second chances

4.5 stars
This is the story of the youngest Alvarez sister, Lola. Lola has many ideas for the Blue Hills Winery and Restaurant, but her older sister, Carmen, won’t consider any of them. She still treats her like a little kid basically, lol. As we read this book, we get to know these characters and I have to say, I really don’t care that much for Carmen. Thankfully, Lola decides to take one of her ideas and run with it, lol. She gets Carmen to unknowingly sign off on the “tiny” cabins being built. Unknown to Lola, Hidalgo hires ex-con, Gus Weaver, to work on this project. Gus was Lola’s high school sweetheart and they were madly in love, until he left in handcuffs. I won’t leave any spoilers, but I highly recommend this beautifully written, sometimes emotional, story.
I received an advanced reader copy of this book from NetGalley and Bookouture and this is my voluntary and honest review.

More Books Like This

2009
2022
2009
2022
2018
2017

More Books by Ellyn Oaksmith

2015
2020
2021
2020
2014

Customers Also Bought

2019
2021
2020
2010
2021
2017

Other Books in This Series

2020
2020