Lost in the Moment and Found Lost in the Moment and Found
Book 8 - Wayward Children

Lost in the Moment and Found

    • 4.7 • 26 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

Winner: 2022 Hugo Award for Best Series

A 2023 Indie Next Pick!

A LibraryReads Hall of Fame Inductee!

A young girl discovers an infinite variety of worlds in this standalone tale in the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning Wayward Children series from Seanan McGuire, Lost in the Moment and Found

Welcome to the Shop Where the Lost Things Go.

If you ever lost a sock, you’ll find it here.
If you ever wondered about a favorite toy from childhood... it’s probably sitting on a shelf in the back.
And the headphones that you swore this time you’d keep safe? You guessed it….

Antoinette has lost her father. Metaphorically. He’s not in the Shop, and she’ll never see him again. But when Antsy finds herself lost (literally, this time), she discovers that however many doors open for her, leaving the Shop for good might not be as simple as it sounds.

And stepping through those doors exacts a price.

Lost in the Moment and Found tells us that childhood and innocence, once lost, can never be found.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
January 10
Tor Publishing Group

Customer Reviews

Bubba Boy8 ,

Wonderful as always!

Thank you Seanan!

Prairie_Dog ,

Eighth Wayward Children Novella is Different and Interesting

“Lost in the Moment and Found” is the eighth novella in Seanan McQuire’s Wayward Children Series. These have clearly become the ultimate portal fantasy series for modern readers. In these novellas, certain children and or young adults find impossible doorways to places they need, or that need them. Sometimes they return to our world, sometimes they go back. Some of those that come back end up at the Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children, where they find a beneficial and nurturing environment. Eleanor West’s appears only at the very end of this novella, unlike many of the previous volumes.

This novella starts with something lost, Antionette Ricci (Antsy for short) loses her father, and with him much more than she understands. Her mother eventually meets another man whom she marries. Antsy does not like this man, and doesn’t trust him. Just when things seem to be heading to a dark place, Antsy decides to run away from home.

She ends up outside a thrift shop, and decides she should go in to use the phone to call her grandmother. She isn’t concerned by the writing above the door that says “Be Sure.” This door opens to the Shop of Lost Things, which is a magical place. She meets a talking magpie and an old woman who manage the place, which also seems to have a mind of its own. Doors are common here, and they lead to various worlds. Antsy is glad to open these Doors, and then return to the Shop. Only later she becomes aware of the price that this exacts…

These stories are modern and inclusive fairy tales, with which readers from the 21st century can relate. I’m now looking forward to the next installment in the series, which looks like it could go on for at least ten novellas. There are also two short stories set in this world I need to catch up on. The title of the next novella has not yet been announced.

More Books Like This

Strange Dogs Strange Dogs
Hex Life: Wicked New Tales of Witchery Hex Life: Wicked New Tales of Witchery
The Lost Girls The Lost Girls
When the Night Whispers When the Night Whispers
Dreams Underfoot Dreams Underfoot
Chronicles of Molly Chronicles of Molly

More Books by Seanan McGuire

Every Heart a Doorway Every Heart a Doorway
Middlegame Middlegame
Down Among the Sticks and Bones Down Among the Sticks and Bones
Some of the Best from Tor.com: 2019 Edition Some of the Best from Tor.com: 2019 Edition
Futures & Fantasies Futures & Fantasies
Instinct Instinct

Customers Also Bought

Over the Woodward Wall Over the Woodward Wall
Along the Saltwise Sea Along the Saltwise Sea
Thornhedge Thornhedge
What Feasts at Night What Feasts at Night
Kingdom of Needle and Bone Kingdom of Needle and Bone
Illuminations Illuminations

Other Books in This Series

Mislaid in Parts Half-Known Mislaid in Parts Half-Known
Every Heart a Doorway Every Heart a Doorway
Down Among the Sticks and Bones Down Among the Sticks and Bones
Beneath the Sugar Sky Beneath the Sugar Sky
In an Absent Dream In an Absent Dream
Come Tumbling Down Come Tumbling Down