• $3.99

Publisher Description

Pirates! Magic! Treasure! A gargoyle?!

Caroline Carlson's funny tween novel The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1: Magic Marks the Spot is perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society.

Hilary Westfield has always dreamed of being a pirate. She can tread water for thirty-seven minutes. She can tie a knot faster than a fleet of sailors, and she already owns a rather pointy sword.

There's only one problem: The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates refuses to let any girl join their ranks of scourges and scallywags.

But Hilary is not the kind of girl to take no for answer. To escape a life of petticoats and politeness at her stuffy finishing school, Hilary sets out in search of her own seaworthy adventure, where she gets swept up in a madcap quest involving a map without an X, a magical treasure that likely doesn't exist, a talking gargoyle, a crew of misfit scallywags, and the most treacherous—and unexpected—villain on the High Seas.

Written with uproarious wit and an inviting storyteller tone, the first book in Caroline Carlson's quirky seafaring series is a piratical tale like no other.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2013
September 10
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
4.1
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 3-7

Customer Reviews

LOVE TO THE MAX ,

BEST BOOK IVE EVER READ

I absolutely adore this book!! It is one of the most fascinating books i've ever read. I strongly recommend it to anyone who wants a fun read. I think it is definitely one of the best books I've read.

Cpnurse ,

Good book

This is a very good book and I would like to tell Caroline Carlson to keep writing very entertaining books.

Viki😃1224 ,

THIS BOOK IS SOOO BORING👎👎👎

If you were to read this book I guarantee you will pass out reading this although I am trying to do all the sunshine state books I had a hard time trying to read it.not to mention every body in my school did not like it please take my advice and don't read it unless you absolutely need to

More Books by Caroline Carlson

Other Books in This Series