• $7.99

Publisher Description

First in the military science fiction series that does “an excellent job of transferring Hornblower to interstellar space. A thoroughly enjoyable read” (David Drake).
In the year 2194, seventeen-year-old Nicholas Seafort is assigned to the Hibernia as a lowly midshipman. Destination: the thriving colony of Hope Nation. But when a rescue attempt goes devastatingly wrong, Seafort is thrust into a leadership role he never anticipated. The other officers resent him, but Seafort must handle more dangerous problems, from a corrupted navigation computer to a deadly epidemic. Even Hope Nation has a nasty surprise in store. Seafort might be the crew’s only hope . . . This page-turning science fiction in the vein of Robert Heinlein and Orson Scott Card—with a dash of Horatio Hornblower—marks the captivating debut adventure in Feintuch’s hugely popular Seafort Saga.

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
January 8
Open Road Media
OpenRoad Integrated Media, LLC

Customer Reviews

Westoversteve ,

What a start!

From midshipman to Captain, Nick Seafort begins his space career as a realistic leader, full of self doubt, following basically good instincts and doing the best he can under trying circumstances. The difference is Nick makes the tough transition on his first voyage! A rousing adventure, Feintuch creates drama from the human conflict as we watch Nick frown from a boy into a man.

coreworksnet ,

A Phenomenal Book Series Without An Ending

I've read David's Seafort Saga novels -- the seven published novels -- at least three times over the years. I communicated via email (write man!) with David in the early 2000s, before his untimely death in 2006. Unfortunately, shortly after David announced the eighth (and final?) book in the series -- Gallahad's Hope -- he passed away.

The series is fantastic, character-driven space opera which begins with this novel, Midshipman's Hope. The first four books in the series are a single arc; each subsequent book progresses Nick Seafort's story but it was in the seventh book -- Children of Hope -- that the story was set up for a final confrontation in Galahad's Hope.

Is it worth reading the series, knowing that it doesn't have a definitive ending? Most certainly. If you're bothered by such things, just read the first four novels (again, beginning with this one, Midshipman's Hope). But you'll want to go further. It's a character-rich universe, very enjoyable, very visual, and very much worth your time.

More Books by David Feintuch

Other Books in This Series