Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes

    • 4.0 • 68 Ratings
    • $2.99
    • $2.99

Publisher Description

Perfect for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Small Admissions, a wry and cleverly observed debut novel about the privileged bubble that is Liston Heights High—the micro-managing parents, the overworked teachers, and the students caught in the middle—and the fallout for each of them when the bubble finally bursts.

When a devoted teacher comes under pressure for her progressive curriculum and a helicopter mom goes viral on social media, two women at odds with each other find themselves in similar predicaments, having to battle back from certain social ruin.
 
Isobel Johnson has spent her career in Liston Heights sidestepping the community’s high-powered families. But when she receives a threatening voicemail accusing her of Anti-Americanism and a liberal agenda, she’s in the spotlight. Meanwhile, Julia Abbott, obsessed with the casting of the school’s winter musical, makes an error in judgment that has far-reaching consequences for her entire family.
 
Brought together by the sting of public humiliation, Isobel and Julia learn firsthand how entitlement and competition can go too far, thanks to a secret Facebook page created as an outlet for parent grievances. The Liston Heights High student body will need more than a strong sense of school spirit to move past these campus dramas in an engrossing debut novel that addresses parents behaving badly and teenagers speaking up, even against their own families.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
February 4
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
1.7
MB

Customer Reviews

Fufubaby ,

I was pleasantly surprised

When I saw in the TOC that the chapters were written from the perspective of different characters, I was ready to not like this book. I prefer that a story be told from a single point of view. To my surprise, I warmed up to each character in turn and came to root for each one. I wanted to get to the end but didn’t want it to end at the same time. 5 stars for this one~

More Books by Kathleen West

2011
2022
2021
2011
2020
2018

Customers Also Bought

2019
2021
2018
2018
2020
2018