• $0.99

Publisher Description

A new emotional and gritty drama from the bestselling author of The Throwaway Children.

After her mother's death, twenty-year-old Sophie Ross is left orphaned, with only her erstwhile nursemaid and faithful friend, Hannah for company. Penniless and little chance of an income, she looks for work as a governess in London to avoid destitution.

But unbeknown to Sophie, her mother instructed Hannah to post a letter to Trescadinnick House in Cornwall upon her death. The letter will be the catalyst that changes Sophie's life forever as she learns of her mother's doomed romance and family she left behind in Cornwall.

The Penvarrow family welcomes Sophie into their fold, but the new life she's built is threatened by secrets and lies that soon come to light...

What readers are saying about Miss Mary's Daughter:

'Diney Costeloe's books are always first on my list, she writes such wonderful stories'

'I loved everything about this novel. It's an intriguing plot with a well-rounded group of characters and a beautifully written setting'.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
February 15
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
Head of Zeus
SELLER
Head of Zeus
SIZE
4.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader ,

Get swept back to 1886

Miss Mary’s Daughter by Diney Costeloe will sweep you back to 1886. Sophie Ross is the daughter of Mary and John Ross. Mary defied her father to marry John and has been estranged from Thomas Penvarrow (and the rest of her family) ever since. Sophie’s father passed away five years prior and now she is losing her mother. Unbeknownst to Sophie’s, Mary has written a letter to her family to be posted by Hannah Butts, the housekeeper (and so much more) after her death. After Mary’s funeral, Sophie starts looking for cheaper lodgings for herself and Hannah as well a position. One day Sophie opens the door and is surprised to see someone who looks just like her mother. Matilda “Matty” Treslyn is Mary’s twin sister, and she has come to take Sophie to Trescadinnick House in Port Felec, Cornwell. Sophie knew nothing about her mother’s family. Sophie agrees to visit the family estate if Hannah comes along as well. Sophie soon meets the rest of the Penvarrow family. Tomas is gruff, Louisa (her aunt) is rude, Charles (a cousin) is distant, Matty is warm, and little Alice Ann is delightful. Sophie settles in to get to know her relations. But like any family, there are secrets, arguments, lies and strain. An unexpected bonus comes in the form of Dr. Nicholas Bryan, Thomas’ physician. What does the future hold for Sophie Ross? Find out in Miss Mary’s Daughter.

Miss Mary’s Daughter is a well-written historical saga. I thought the characters were fully developed with a nice variety of different characteristics/personalities. The characters were realistic with normal emotions (they were not exaggerated). Sophie was very naïve in the beginning and I was glad to see her grow as the novel progressed. Little Alice Ann was adorable. I felt the author captured the era (late 1880s) and locale (London and Cornwall) with her vivid descriptions. Diney Costeloe’s provided beautiful depictions of the fashions (I love historical clothing). The pace of the story does slow down a touch in the middle but then it picks back up again around the sixty percent mark. There is mystery, intrigue, secrets, romance, friendship and family in this novel. Fans of Rosie Goodwin and Julie Klassen will be delighted with Diney Costeloe’s Miss Mary’s Daughter. Miss Mary’s Daughter is a pleasurable novel to read. Perfect for a rainy or snowy evening settle into a comfortable chair.

More Books by Diney Costeloe