Book 2 - A Miss Morton Mystery

Miss Morton and the Spirits of the Underworld

    • 4.3 • 21 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

From the author of the critically acclaimed Kurland St. Mary series, this new historical mystery series is “a charming cross between a Regency romance and a well‑constructed detective story” (Kirkus Reviews), and will appeal to fans of Victoria Thompson and Deanna Raybourn.

Lady Caroline is happy to be back amid the swirl of London society, guiding her employer’s daughter, Dorothy Frogerton, through her first Season. Dorothy has been declared “an original” by a patron of the exclusive social club, Almack’s, and is sifting through potential suitors. Mrs. Frogerton, meanwhile, finds her own diversions, including spiritualist gatherings at the home of Madam Lavinia, and begs Caroline to come along.
 
Caroline is skeptical of Madam’s antics and faux French accent—until she slips a note into Caroline’s hand, which contains intimate family knowledge. Even as Caroline tries to discern whether the spiritualist’s powers are real, a much darker mystery presents itself. Madam Lavinia is found lifeless in her chair, a half-empty glass of port at her elbow. In her desk is a note addressed to Caroline, entreating her to find her murderer.
 
Caroline needs no psychic abilities to determine a motive, for it seems that Madam was blackmailing some of her clients and has left a trail of aggrieved aristocrats behind. But as Caroline and Mrs. Frogerton investigate further, they find other suspects, and a litany of deceptions, some very close to home. Now Caroline will need to keep all her wits about her if she is to stop others from joining Madam Lavinia in the afterlife . . .

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2023
August 22
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
Kensington Books
SELLER
Kensington Publishing Corp.
SIZE
1
MB

Customer Reviews

annabu306 ,

Quite readable

It is not my kind of book, but I skipped dinner to finish it. Very entertaining.

Oma 3 ,

Excellent cozi mystery

Very enjoyable cozi historical mystery! Lady Caroline and Mrs. Frogerton are once again in the middle of a murder mystery where their friend Dr. Harris is the #1 suspect of the murder of spiritualist Madam Lavinia. On the quest to discover who did murder Madam and prove Dr. Harris innocence leads to many questions but no proof of whodunnit.
It definitely kept my interest and trying to figure out who the murderer was. Great twist in the end! I love it when I didn’t guess who was the villain. I rated it 4.5 ⭐️. Thank you NetGalley for this eARC. I am voluntarily posting an honest review after reading an Advance Reader Copy of this story. #NetGalley #MissMortonandtheSpiritsoftheUnderworld

More Books Like This

2015
2017
2016
2003
2021
2022

More Books by Catherine Lloyd

2013
2018
2015
2014
2020
2021

Customers Also Bought

2023
2023
2021
2023
2023
2022

Other Books in This Series

2024
2022