Murder in Merrywell Murder in Merrywell
Book 1 - A Violet Brewster Mystery

Murder in Merrywell

    • 4.1 • 29 Ratings
    • $0.99
    • $0.99

Publisher Description

Welcome to Merrywell. Population: small. Secrets: aplenty.

‘Murder in Merrywell is an entertaining and engaging cozy mystery set against a beautiful backdrop.’ – Clare Chase

Ex-journalist Violet Brewster is keen to make a good first impression in her new community, having just moved to the small village of Merrywell. When Violet hears about the mystery of Helen Slingsby, who disappeared from the village forty years earlier, she decides to help uncover what happened. But despite Violet’s best efforts, she can find no trace of the missing woman.

As Violet talks to the other residents, it becomes apparent that something sinister is lurking beneath the village’s idyllic exterior.

When a villager is found dead in their home, Violet becomes convinced that the murder is connected to Helen. Did Helen ever really leave Merrywell? Who in the village is hiding something? And can Violet finally solve this forty-year-old mystery before someone else gets hurt?

An utterly gripping and page-turning English cozy mystery, perfect for fans of Clare Chase, Frances Evesham and Betty Rowlands.

Readers LOVE Murder in Merrywell!

'A perfect cozy mystery with an engaging cast of characters and a beautifully-drawn setting.' Roz Watkins

‘If you love cozy crime/mystery books then you will not be disappointed… A book to put to the top of your ‘must read now’ pile!’ C.L. Peache

‘Violet Brewster is everything you could want in an amateur sleuth; empathetic, determined, and ruthless in her quest for truth… A must read!’ Charlotte Baker

‘Interesting characters, and the story is funny, thrilling and touching. A very good combination.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Murder in Merrywell has moments that will make you laugh out loud! I recommend to all readers.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

About the author

JANE BETTANY is a writer of short stories and non-fiction books and articles. Her work has been published in women's magazines in the UK (such as My Weekly, People's Friend, Yours and Woman's Weekly), as well as in literary magazines and newspapers.

She has an MA in Creative Writing and has been a teacher of creative writing since 2007. As well as writing and teaching, she also runs a publishing and communications company and loves helping people to share their stories and find their writing voice.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2023
April 18
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
HQ Digital
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
2.7
MB

Customer Reviews

kahahdb ,

Not worth the money

Very slow and quite boring.

More Books Like This

London Rain London Rain
2016
A Tricky Lie A Tricky Lie
2011
Angela Marchmont Mysteries Books 1-3 Angela Marchmont Mysteries Books 1-3
2017
Mindful of Murder Mindful of Murder
2022
A Colourful Death A Colourful Death
2010
A Lady Compromised A Lady Compromised
2020

More Books by Jane Bettany

Last Seen Alive Last Seen Alive
2022
Without a Trace Without a Trace
2021
In Cold Blood In Cold Blood
2020
Murder at the Book Festival Murder at the Book Festival
2024
Murder at Maple Grange Murder at Maple Grange
2024
How to Write Stories With a Twist How to Write Stories With a Twist
2016

Customers Also Bought

Murder Most Antique Murder Most Antique
2023
Driven to Murder Driven to Murder
2024
Dastardly Deeds at St Bride's Dastardly Deeds at St Bride's
2022
Murder on a Cornish Isle Murder on a Cornish Isle
2023
A Harvest Murder A Harvest Murder
2022
The Murderous Type The Murderous Type
2023

Other Books in This Series

Murder at the Book Festival Murder at the Book Festival
2024
Murder at Maple Grange Murder at Maple Grange
2024