Book 1 - Miss Merrill and Aunt Violet Mysteries

Murder in the Bookshop

The start of a totally addictive WW1 cozy murder mystery from Anita Davison

    • 4.1 • 16 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

‘A lovely mystery evocative of the period from a talented writer.’ Helena Dixon, bestselling author of the Miss Underhay mysteries

Someone’s been read their last rites…

1915, London: Working in the dusty bookshop that her Aunt Violet mysteriously inherited, Hannah Merrill is accustomed to finding twists in every tale. But discovering her beloved best friend Lily-Anne – with a paperknife through her heart – in the middle of the bookshop, is not a plotline she saw coming.

The case is anything but textbook. With the discovery of a coded German message, and Hannah’s instinct that Lily-Anne’s husband is keeping secrets, she determines to get to the bottom of it.

She can’t do it alone though. To crack this case, Hannah will need the enlist the help of her outrageous, opinionated, only-occasionally-objectionable Aunt Violet.

They think they’re making progress until one of their chief suspects is found dead. And Hannah realises that she is herself now in the murderer’s sights. Will the final chapter be the ending of a killer… or just a killer ending?

A totally addictive, WW1-set cozy mystery, perfect for fans of Verity Bright, T.E. Kinsey, and Agatha Christie.

Readers love Murder in the Bookshop:

‘Wonderful!! I had high hopes for this novel and it did not disappoint. Once I began I could hardly put it down. I am excited to read Ms. Davison’s next installment.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I couldn’t put this book down, I just wanted to keep reading. The story kept me guessing all the time and the ending was unexpected. Can’t wait for the next book.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘What a fabulous setting for a murder Aunt Violet's dusty bookshop is!… If I could have read it in one sitting, I would have done. A brilliant plot with some clever twists! I think I've found a new favourite series. I can’t wait for the next instalment. Highly recommended!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A fabulous historical novel that entertained me from the start… Reminiscent of Miss Jane Marple… I loved the inclusion of Bartleby, the bookshop cat who was very much a character in his own right.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I loved this book. Hannah and Aunt Violet are wonderful characters and I liked them from the start. The surrounding characters are well imagined. The setting is interesting. I enjoyed the references to literature and the way books were a part of the story line… Very entertaining and I highly recommend it.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Set against the backdrop of the war in 1915, with the very real fears of invasion and bombings, the characters are beautifully drawn, especially the wonderfully bold and rather scandalous suffragette Violet who carries a few secrets of her own and who I immediately loved. This is a great start to a new cosy crime series and I am looking forward to seeing what happens next to the amateur sleuths and their friends.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Fascinating characters, scandals, espionage and murder… Kept me turning the pages wanting to know what would happen to Hannah and her delightful feline companion.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I loved this delightful new cozy mystery featuring a young society girl and her suffragette aunt… 5 stars. I look forward to more in this series.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A compelling tale, full of red herrings, lost love, along with excellent research of the time period.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A very fun read! I can’t wait to read the next installment!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
August 22
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
Boldwood Books
SELLER
Boldwood Books Ltd
SIZE
1.2
MB

More Books Like This

2016
2022
2021
2023
2017
2021

More Books by Anita Davison

2023
2023
2023
2024
2024
2024

Customers Also Bought

2023
2023
2024
2021
2021
2014

Other Books in This Series