Murder, She Encountered Murder, She Encountered
Book 3 - Murder, She Reported Series

Murder, She Encountered

    • 4.4 • 11 Ratings
    • $4.99
    • $4.99

Publisher Description

A gutsy Manhattan socialite encounters murder and corruption at the World’s Fair in this captivating historical cozy mystery for readers of Victoria Thompson, Susan Elia MacNeal, and Rhys Bowen.

New York City, 1939. A rising star at the Daily Trumpet, Elizabeth “Biz” Adams has been sent to the World’s Fair—billed as the “World of Tomorrow,” a look toward a brighter future even as the drumbeats of war grow louder—to cover a robbery. What she stumbles upon instead is a dead woman, dumped into the Aquacade’s pool with a nylon stocking wrapped around her neck.

Elizabeth snaps a photo as the police arrest Joey Dorman, a gentle young hot dog vendor who made no secret of his obsession with the murder victim. Even though she’s thrilled that her photo makes the front page, the fear and confusion evident on Joey’s face are haunting. So Elizabeth vows to prove his innocence—or his guilt—with her partner at the Daily Trumpet, Ralph Kaminsky. Meanwhile, her romance with Detective Sal Marino is heating up, and Elizabeth is more determined than ever to follow her heart.

But when Kaminsky’s efforts to expose the real killer land him in the hospital, Elizabeth is forced to continue the investigation on her own. And as she tries to narrow down the long list of suspects, she discovers a dark secret running through the Fair—a secret some would kill to protect.

Look for all of Peg Cochran’s delightful mysteries featuring Elizabeth Adams, which can be read together or separately:
MURDER, SHE REPORTED
MURDER, SHE UNCOVERED
MURDER, SHE ENCOUNTERED

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2019
December 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
240
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
2
MB

Customer Reviews

Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader ,

An engrossing tale!

Murder, She Encountered by Peg Cochran has Elizabeth “Biz” Adams visiting the New York World’s Fair with veteran crime reporter, Ralph Kaminsky when a woman is murdered. The police arrest hot dog vender, Joey Dorman for the crime but things do not add up. Ralph and Biz dig deeper into the case in the hopes of a big story. When Ralph ends up in the hospital with bronchitis, Biz continues to investigate. Unfortunately, someone is not happy with Biz’ questions and decides to help her cool off. Someone has a secret that they will kill for which is evident when a second victim turns up at the fair. Ralph springs himself from the hospital and rejoins Biz to get to the bottom of this perplexing case. Murder, She Encountered is the third in the Murder She Reported Series. It can be read as a standalone for those new to the series. However, I have enjoyed reading the series in order which has allowed me to get to know Ralph Kaminsky and Elizabeth “Biz” Adams. Elizabeth comes from a well-to-family, but she chafes at the endless rules and restrictions. Her mother, Helen does not understand Elizabeth’s desire to work. It is a good thing that Biz’ parents do not take the Daily Trumpet, or they would lock Elizabeth in her room. Ralph Kaminsky is a veteran crime reporter who grabs Biz whenever he goes out on a story. He is the gruff type with a heart of gold. You can tell that he cares for Elizabeth. Ralph and Elizabeth make a great team. Detective Sal Marino is Elizabeth’s beau and she is falling for the handsome detective. She can see a future with Marino, but Elizabeth cannot say the same for her mother. I found Murder, She Encountered to be well-written with steady pacing. I can tell that Peg Cochran has done her research. I enjoyed her descriptions of the World’s Fair taking place in New York in 1939. The lingo is accurate for the time period along with the clothing and types of conveyances. We get to see what it was like to take the subway in 1939. There are new inventions mentioned like nylon from Dupont and air conditioning. Elizabeth shocks her mother by going out in trousers which were made popular by Katherine Hepburn. Mr. & Mrs. Adams went out to view The Philadelphia Story and Kay Kyser’s “Three Little Fishes” was playing on the radio (FYI—Kay Kyser is a man). The mystery was complex and there was active investigating throughout the story. I like how all the pieces tied together. The author really thought out this multifaceted whodunit. The ending has me anxious for the next Murder She Reported novel. Murder, She Encountered is an engrossing cozy mystery with a mystifying mystery, exciting exhibits, soaring temperatures, a poorly reporter, meddlesome models, and a probing photographer.

More Books Like This

Virtue Falls Virtue Falls
2014
The Anastasia Syndrome The Anastasia Syndrome
2000
Body Movers Body Movers
2012
Heart Wounds Heart Wounds
2015
For the Sake of Elena For the Sake of Elena
1992
The Killer in Me The Killer in Me
2021

More Books by Peg Cochran

Berried Secrets Berried Secrets
2015
Unholy Matrimony Unholy Matrimony
2014
Confession Is Murder Confession Is Murder
2013
Allergic to Death Allergic to Death
2012
A Room with a Pew A Room with a Pew
2015
Berry the Hatchet Berry the Hatchet
2016

Customers Also Bought

Deadly Darkness: A World War II Mystery Deadly Darkness: A World War II Mystery
2021
Deadly Rescue Deadly Rescue
2022
Deadly Broadcast Deadly Broadcast
2022
Deadly Manor Deadly Manor
2023
Deadly Wedding Deadly Wedding
2016
Come Hell or Highball Come Hell or Highball
2015

Other Books in This Series

Murder, She Reported Murder, She Reported
2018
Murder, She Uncovered Murder, She Uncovered
2019