• $7.99

Publisher Description

William Ryder, Earl of Castleton, is at the end of his noble rope. Not only has he broken ties with his longtime mistress, his mother has publicly announced her wish for him to marry a suitable young lady—if only to help him raise the young twins in his care. Hiring a governess should solve some of Will’s problems…but when he meets the candidate in question, he finds himself in an entirely new predicament.


Miss Margaret Lacey is brainy, beautiful, and, once upon a time, Will’s betrothed. But she bowed out of the engagement—and, since then, has never been the same. A tragic accident robbed her of everything, and now, at age twenty-three, her marital prospects are slim to none. Penniless but not without pride, Meg convinces the vexingly handsome Will to hire her for the job. What neither of them could have expected from this arrangement, however, is an attraction that burns stronger than ever. Are these two lost souls finally ready to be schooled in the art of love?

Don’t miss the Wayward Wallflower books by Anna Bennett!
My Brown-Eyed Earl (Book 1)
I Dared the Duke (Book 2)
The Rogue is Back in Town (Book 3)

What Reviewers are saying:

“Sharply drawn characters, clever dialogue…simmering sensuality.”
Library Journal

“A new favorite among romance enthusiasts!” - BookPage on I Dared the Duke

"Will truly win readers' hearts." - RT Book Reviews Top Pick on I Dared the Duke

"Bennett brings new life to traditional Regency stories and characters. " - Kirkus Reviews on I Dared the Duke

October 4
St. Martin's Publishing Group

Customer Reviews

Srk2006 ,

Lovely read

This was a story of lost and found love. The earl came to adore the governess he’d hired on a whim. The very woman who’d been promised to him years before. Always an attraction between them, it wasn’t long before they were falling in love. Old secrets threaten to undermine them. The loss of her parents and his fathers old debts could be the their downfall, until this beautiful happily ever after saves them all.

celticmaggie ,

My Brown-Eyed Earl

I was surprised when I saw this book was 42 chapters. I sat down and waited for a long reading that didn't come. It took me about a day and a half. There are Spoilers all over this book. Anna has given us a good Story Line. Her people really pulled off this story. Meg and Will knew each other when they were teens. They were to marry and Meg blows her top! Spoiler. Jump ahead and Will, an Earl, has his late cousins 6 yr old twin girls. He needs help. He interviews for a governess. Meg is surprised when she meets him again. Diana and Valerie were given to Will as their mother didn't want them. Meg tries to hide when she thinks she is less than the Ton. Spoiler. Here is where I will say that this is a graphic adult book. It is not for under 18 readers. This is the first book in a new series. I will recommend this book for us older readers! I couldn't put this book down. Don't pass this book up. You will regret it later. Enjoy reading this story! I have this book for an honest review for NetGalley.

More Books by Anna Bennett

Other Books in This Series