• $9.99

Publisher Description

"An edge-of my sear immersion into historical events...No study of Alexander Hamilton would be complete without reading this book." —Karen White, New York Times bestselling author

"The best book of the year!" —Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network

Wife, Widow, and Warrior in Alexander Hamilton’s quest for a more perfect union

From the New York Times bestselling authors of America’s First Daughter comes the epic story of Eliza Schuyler Hamilton—a revolutionary woman who, like her new nation, struggled to define herself in the wake of war, betrayal, and tragedy. Perfect for fans of Ron Chernow's biography Alexander Hamilton and fans of Lin-Manuel Miranda's Hamilton: the Musical.

In this haunting, moving, and beautifully written novel, Dray and Kamoie used thousands of letters and original sources to tell Eliza’s story as it’s never been told before—not just as the wronged wife at the center of a political sex scandal—but also as a founding mother who shaped an American legacy in her own right.

A general’s daughter…

Coming of age on the perilous frontier of revolutionary New York, Elizabeth Schuyler champions the fight for independence. And when she meets Alexander Hamilton, Washington’s penniless but passionate aide-de-camp, she’s captivated by the young officer’s charisma and brilliance. They fall in love, despite Hamilton’s bastard birth and the uncertainties of war.

A founding father’s wife...

But the union they create—in their marriage and the new nation—is far from perfect. From glittering inaugural balls to bloody street riots, the Hamiltons are at the center of it all—including the political treachery of America’s first sex scandal, which forces Eliza to struggle through heartbreak and betrayal to find forgiveness.

The last surviving light of the Revolution…

When a duel destroys Eliza’s hard-won peace, the grieving widow fights her husband’s enemies to preserve Alexander’s legacy. But long-buried secrets threaten everything Eliza believes about her marriage and her own legacy. Questioning her tireless devotion to the man and country that have broken her heart, she’s left with one last battle—to understand the flawed man she married and imperfect union he could never have created without her…

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
April 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
672
Pages
PUBLISHER
William Morrow Paperbacks
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
2.4
MB

Customer Reviews

AHanson24 ,

Another dimension of the Hamilton story

I absolutely loved this book. I appreciated that the authors acknowledged the Broadway show with fair warning that because of historical placement, their timelines would be different from the musical. I feel like a lot of people would go into reading this book with the expectations of the show. The story was done beautifully. I really felt that I was in that century. I’m looking forward to reading their other book!

Jburkes3 ,

Loved it!

This book gave me so much more information about the beginning of the United States than I ever learned in school. And the best thing was, as with other historical novels I've read, I didn't have to wonder which parts were fact and which were fiction. The author explains this, in detail, at the end of the book. The story, which is mainly about the life of Alexander Hamilton's wife, Elizabeth, was thoroughly engaging. I would
recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical fiction.

Short story:( ,

My Dear Hamilton

Great story loved it never a dull moment, learned so much could put it down. Hated to see it end.

More Books by Stephanie Dray & Laura Kamoie