• $3.99

Publisher Description

Wow!!! Where to even begin?? Mind you, it's hard enough to write this with blurry eyes through tears!!... Absolutely heartbreaking and a real tear jerker.’ Kirsty Whitlock ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Cara took a deep breath and let it out slowly. ‘She’s not just my daughter,’ she said as she turned to face Jack. This man she had once loved, but who she hadn’t seen for nearly five years. ‘Sophie is your daughter too.’

 

It is just past ten o’clock on a cold Friday evening when Rebecca and her husband Jack’s doorbell rings. Outside is a woman who introduces herself as Jack’s ex-girlfriend Cara. And she’s holding the hand of a shivering, blue-eyed, four-year-old girl. Who she claims is Jack’s daughter.

 

Rebecca is shocked to discover he has a child from his last relationship – even one he hadn’t known about. Because becoming parents isn’t part of their life plan. They like children, but they also love their freedom and spending time together uninterrupted; the way that, if they wanted to, they could travel the world at a moment’s notice.

 

But Cara needs them. Because Cara has a devastating secret that she can’t tell anyone yet. Not even her daughter. A secret with the power to change all of their lives.

 

A secret that will ultimately mean Rebecca has to ask herself – could she find it in herself to welcome her husband’s child into her home, and into her heart?

 

A heartbreaking and powerful emotional women’s fiction novel about love, friendship and what it truly means to be a parent, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Kate Hewitt


Readers are loving My Husband’s Daughter:

Oh my days, what a tear jerker! I have such a book hangover!… I can't remember the last time I read a whole book in one sitting… I have been glued to the edge of my seat! I should mention that tissues are a must! I cried more than once (I lost count) and am still wiping away the tears as I write this. The story is so heart breaking but beautifully written that some parts had me both sad but smiling at the same time… Absolutely brilliant!!’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I don't even know where to begin to review this absolutely gut-wrenching, beautiful story… I have never audibly sobbed or struggled to read a book through tears, but this one was tough…. I cannot express the need for everyone to read this book… It is just beautiful and I think it gives a lot for people to learn from in their own lives too.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Oh my goodness – what a beautiful, heart wrenching, ugly-cry-making book!… Twists and turns like you wouldn't expect from this genre, and just fantastic characterisation… it really really makes you think (and cry) – go read it!!!!’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Blooming hell! What did Emma Robinson do to me with this book?The most touching story I’ve read for a long time, so bravo to the author… An amazing story of compassion and selflessness… This is an absolutely brilliant five star read and not one to be missed!’ NetGalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


WHAT A TEAR JERKER Keep the tissues really close to your side throughout… Will pull hard on your heart strings… If I could give this 10 stars I definitely would.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Will make you cry and laugh, feel things you have not even thought about … A story that is so touching, extremely emotional, and ultimately heart provokingI haven't read anything so original for a long time.’ The Magical World of Reading ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Have a box, no two boxes, of tissues at the ready… A beautifully written, heart wrenching story of love and loss… It will stay with you.’ Cypresscornerreads ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
October 13
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
319
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
2.3
MB

Customer Reviews

KHHSC ,

A rare reading experience!

“It’ll soon be the time for the pitter-patter of baby feet then.” So begins the conversation at a dinner party but Rebecca replies that she doesn’t want children. She is a busy event planner with her own growing business and she wants to travel and enjoy a child free life. She’s joined by her handsome, ad executive husband Jack who agrees with her. Hours later, the ring of a doorbell changes their neatly constructed world forever.

Cara, the ex-girlfriend Jack hasn’t seen in years, stands on their steps with Sophie, her four year old daughter. Cara needs a place to stay and oh, by the way, here’s your daughter Sophie. What happens next, the lies, the pain, the twists, the surprises, and the joy will have you in tears. No spoilers here but this lovely, emotional story will touch your heart.

Emma Robinson has delivered a rare reading experience with My Husband’s Daughter. Very different, sometimes shocking events change Rebecca, Jack and Cara. The plot moves seamlessly as the voices of Rebecca and Cara describe events from their own perspectives. This is a book about secrets, the strength of friendships and the power of love. 5 stars.

Thank you to NetGalley, Bookouture and Emma Robinson for this ARC.

Swenreadstoomuch ,

No Thanks

I wanted to like this. Unfortunately, the story gets lost in poor writing, unrealistic plot devices, and over-the-top exposition that tries to make up for the fact that the characters are unlikeable and underdeveloped.

More Books by Emma Robinson