• $3.99

Publisher Description

‘Mum wants to know when you’re coming home.’ They were the only words that could ever make me return; the words that I’d been waiting to hear for all these years.


The day Ginny died, Skye lost more than just her sister. Though her mother, Mary’s, strength held their family together, Skye never saw her cry, and her silence made Skye feel alone in her grief. It overwhelmed Skye, and after Ginny’s funeral, she left, wondering if her mother blamed her for not being there the night Ginny fell.


When Skye learns that Mary is desperate to see her for the first time in fifteen years, she hopes that it’s a chance to build back their relationship over homemade shortbread and walks along the beach. To mend their hearts, which have been broken for so long.


Mary’s face is lined, but her hazel-green eyes are the same. The warm scent of lavender and apple hasn’t changed. But there is so much Skye doesn’t know about her mother. And as she finally begins to feel close to her again, Skye starts to uncover secrets about Ginny’s death that may tear their family apart for good…


My Mother’s Silence is a twisty and emotional novel about the bonds between mothers and daughters, and what happens when we hide things from those we love the most. Fans of Diane Chamberlain, Liane Moriarty and Kerry Fisher will be gripped.


What readers are saying about My Mother’s Silence:


‘5 stars, without a doubt!… I found myself lost in the moment turning page after page, loving every moment of pure intrigue… fans of Liane Moriarty and Sally Hepworth will surely enjoy it!’ Misty’s Corner Reviews, 5 stars


‘Definitely a must read book! Needless to say this book pulled hard on my heartstrings from the very beginning and didn’t let go… will stick with you well after you finish reading it… Such a masterpiece.’ Heidi Lynn’s Book reviews, 5 stars


‘A beautifully written and emotional read… Loved this page turning story.’ Goodreads reviewer


Lauren Westwood has smashed it out of the park with a roaring whack!!… This book affected me in a lot of ways… I was left with a pain deep inside me, pain of the unshed tears for the mother and daughter who had lost so much but found each other. I could write pages, but I have to stop here with a tear rolling down my cheek.Book reviews by Shalini, 5 stars


‘A stellar read!... Powerful and evocative… I was taut with tension with my shoulders near my ears and suspected each secondary character at some point in reading. I was unwilling to put my Kindle down and deeply resented any interruption.’ Books and Bindings, 5 stars


‘I was drawn into the drama of the past, the secrets, lies and family connections. I couldn't put this book down. Equally emotional and cathartic. It truly was a riveting read.’ Robin Loves Reading


‘Beautiful and emotional… A powerful read that will stay with you after you’ve put the book down.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘The writing was so evocative in this novel and the Scottish highland scenery almost became another character. You become drawn in and invested in finding out the truth. A thoroughly enjoyable read with a wholly satisfying and beautifully hopeful ending.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘A story of love and loss and triumph over despair. I look forward to reading more by this author, she is really that good. I highly recommend this book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
November 11
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
361
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
2.6
MB

Customer Reviews

MrsM22 ,

Emotional Roller Coaster, 5-stars!

Imagine living in a village where everyone knows who you are, and worse... knows things you don't about the most crucial, heartbreaking night of your life. "I'll always be the twin that didn't die." -Skye Turner.

Set in the beautiful western highlands of Eilean Shiel, Scotland, Skye Turner has been away from home for far too long. She spent 15 years trying to escape her past and the feeling that her mother blamed her for failing to protect her sister. Who wouldn't want to escape that feeling?

5/5 stars, without a doubt! The author so cleverly weaves her descriptive narrative right from the get-go. We’re left with touchable imagery as Lauren Westwood metaphorically captures the feeling of reminiscing as if opening presents on Christmas morning. This idea of slowly unwrapping memories plays out well through the end of Skye's story as she works towards uncovering every bit of information lost. She may have to 'rock the boat' a little but surely the ends justify the means?

When she was 20 her world fell apart around her the night that her twin sister Ginny went missing, along with Skye's memories from that fatal night. They were supposed to travel the world together, audition for gigs with Skye's guitar and Ginny's beautiful voice. Their duet was supposed to take them far, allowing them to escape village life. Instead, Skye left alone.

"I want to be here-home after so long. I want to get to know Mum again and not be strangers. More than anything, I just want things to be 'normal' between us." This quote from chapter six perfectly sums up the strain between Sky and her mum. They became strangers after years apart and unimaginable grief, heightened by harbored secrets, miscommunications, and lost recollections. What I quite enjoyed throughout this narrative was the progression of Skye's relationship with her mum. Despite her mum's silence and problems with reality, Skye persists. 15 years may seem too little, too late but the love between a mother and daughter is forever.

I was hard-pressed to find anything I didn't like about this book. On multiple occasions I found myself lost in the moment turning page after page, loving every moment of pure intrigue. This story's character development played out quite nicely, the way it should without any force or pretense. Luckily I was unable to guess the twist at the end and found the journey quite mesmerizing. Let's not forget to mention that sweet tidbit at the end, so as not to spoil I'll choose not to expand here ;) I cannot recommend this book enough for anyone interested in emotional women's fiction; fans of Liane Moriarty and Sally Hepworth will surely enjoy it!

Thank you to NetGalley, the publisher Bookouture, and the author Lauren Westwood for providing me with an advanced reader copy of this title in exchange for an honest review.

More Books by Lauren Westwood