My Name Is Leon My Name Is Leon

My Name Is Leon

    • 4.1 • 8 Ratings
    • $14.99
    • $14.99

Publisher Description

“Taut, emotionally intense, and wholly believable, this beautiful and uplifting debut” (Kirkus Reviews) about a young black boy’s quest to reunite with his beloved white half-brother after they are separated in foster care is a sparkling novel perfect for fans of The Language of Flowers.

Leon loves chocolate bars, Saturday morning cartoons, and his beautiful, golden-haired baby brother. When Jake is born, Leon pokes his head in the crib and says, “I’m your brother. Big brother. My. Name. Is. Leon. I am eight and three quarters. I am a boy.” Jake will play with no one but Leon, and Leon is determined to save him from any pain and earn that sparkling baby laugh every chance he can.

But Leon isn’t in control of this world where adults say one thing and mean another. When their mother falls victim to her inner demons, strangers suddenly take Jake away; after all, a white baby is easy to adopt, while a half-black, nine-year-old faces a less certain fate. Vowing to get Jake back by any means necessary, Leon’s own journey will carry him through the lives of a doting but ailing foster mother, Maureen; Maureen’s cranky and hilarious sister, Sylvia; a social worker Leon knows only as “The Zebra”; and a colorful community of local gardeners and West Indian political activists.

Told through the perspective of young Leon, too innocent to entirely understand what has happened to him and baby Jake, but determined to do what he can to make things right. In the end, this is an uplifting story about the power of love, the unbreakable bond between brothers, and the truth about what ultimately makes a family. My Name Is Leon will capture your imagination and steal your heart with its “moving exploration of race and the foster-care system that offers precious insight into the mind of a child forced to grow up well before his time” (Booklist).

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2016
July 26
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Digital Sales LLC
SIZE
4.4
MB

More Books Like This

The Juror The Juror
2009
Those People Behind Us Those People Behind Us
2023
We All Love the Beautiful Girls We All Love the Beautiful Girls
2018
Sweet Nothing Sweet Nothing
2015
Dogeaters Dogeaters
2013
The Ones Who Don't Say They Love You The Ones Who Don't Say They Love You
2021

More Books by Kit de Waal

The Women Writers Handbook 2020 The Women Writers Handbook 2020
2020
Without Warning and Only Sometimes Without Warning and Only Sometimes
2022
Common People Common People
2019
Six Foot Six Six Foot Six
2018
Without Warning and Only Sometimes Without Warning and Only Sometimes
2024
Die Zeit und was sie heilt Die Zeit und was sie heilt
2019

Customers Also Bought

Salt Houses Salt Houses
2017
Moon Tiger Moon Tiger
2007
The Reality Bubble The Reality Bubble
2019
The Many Daughters of Afong Moy The Many Daughters of Afong Moy
2022
The Island of Missing Trees The Island of Missing Trees
2021
Girl, Woman, Other Girl, Woman, Other
2019