Nancy Wake

The gripping true story of the woman who became the Gestapo's most wanted spy

    • 4.3 • 82 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

The gripping true story of the woman who became the Gestapo's most wanted spy

In the early 1930s, Nancy Wake was a young woman enjoying a bohemian life in Paris. By the end of the Second World War, she was the Gestapo's most wanted person.

As a naïve, young journalist, Nancy Wake witnessed a horrific scene of Nazi violence in a Viennese street. From that moment, she declared that she would do everything in her power to rid Europe of the Nazis. What began as a courier job here and there became a highly successful escape network for Allied soldiers, perfectly camouflaged by Nancy's high-society life in Marseille.

Her network was soon so successful - and so notorious - that she was forced to flee France to escape the Gestapo, who had dubbed her "the white mouse" for her knack of slipping through its traps. But Nancy was a passionate enemy of the Nazis and refused to stay away. Supplying weapons and training members of a powerful underground fighting force, organising Allied parachute drops, cycling four hundred kilometres across a mountain range to find a new transmitting radio - nothing seemed too difficult in her fight against the Nazis. Peter FitzSimons reveals Nancy Wake's compelling story, a tale of an ordinary woman doing extraordinary things.

For fans of A Woman of No Importance and Code Name: Lise comes the true story behind the historical fiction novels Code Name Helène and Liberation.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2011
October 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.4
MB

Customer Reviews

§3¥2 ,

Great title to a great book!

Nancy Wake is clearly a heroine! What bravery she displayed to save people while others closed their eyes to Hitler ‘s madness. We could all use some of her courage to stand up for what is right. Nancy always did what was right and never paid service to the politically correct. She played hard but fought even harder for what was right. She will always be an inspiration to me! Thank you for telling her story, BRAVO!!

photobyjb ,

Nancy Wake Biography Revised Edition

Incredible woman; incredible book! What a life! Much sadness; much happiness; much excitement. Recently, I have read several books set in Germany and Poland during the same time frame. Also great reads, but fiction. This book is the real thing. What a horrible time to be in Europe. I highly recommend this book to get a peek at what people endured.

Lots of slots ,

While the life was amazing...the read was lackluster

Who Nancy Wake was and how she came to be so important is a remarkable story. Unfortunately, the writer chose to write bare facts without any richness of emotion or description to make me “Feel” what it was like to live through such dangerous times.

More Books by Peter FitzSimons

2018
2011
2010
2012
2010
2019

Customers Also Bought

2002
2016
2015
2020
2009
2014