• $1.99

Publisher Description

Winner of the Hugo Award: This classic is an “evocative look at a crumbling Earth of the far future and a human race struggling to survive” (George R. R. Martin).
“Roum is a city built on seven hills. They say it was a capital of man in one of the earlier cycles. I knew nothing of that, for my guild was Watching, not Remembering.” For a thousand years, mankind has lived under the threat of invasion from an alien race. After the oceans rose and the continents were reshaped, people divided into guilds—Musicians, Scribes, Merchants, Clowns, and more. The Watchers wander the earth, scouring the skies for signs of enemies from the stars. But during one Watcher’s journey to the ancient city of Roum with his companion, a Flier named Avluela, a moment of distraction allows the invaders to advance. When the Watcher finally sounds the alarm, it’s too late; the star people are poised to conquer all. And so, with the world in turmoil, the Watcher sets out alone for the Hall of the Rememberers, keepers of the past, where humanity’s last hope for survival might be hidden . . .  

Perfect for readers of Greg Bear and Ursula K. Le Guin, renowned, award-winning author Robert Silverberg’s science fiction novel represents the best of the genre and beyond. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Robert Silverberg including rare images and never-before-seen documents from the author’s personal collection.

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2013
May 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
270
Pages
PUBLISHER
Open Road Media
SELLER
OpenRoad Integrated Media, LLC
SIZE
1.9
MB

Customer Reviews

whateverdoyouwantforaname ,

A classic

I read Nightwings for the first time when I was in my teens and have read it several times since. This is one of the few books I've kept through the years and many moves. A lot of older science fiction, when reread years later, becomes hokey or seriously dated but Nightwings has retained a timeless magical charm. I'm glad to see it back in publication, no matter the media.

More Books by Robert Silverberg