No Ordinary Killing

A gripping historical crime thriller

    • 3.8 • 109 Ratings
    • $0.99
    • $0.99

Publisher Description

The Empire has a deadly secret... The Number One Historical Thrillers Bestseller

1899, South Africa:  As the Boer War rages, Captain Ingo Finch of the Royal Army Medical Corps pieces together casualties at the front. Then, recovering in Cape Town, he is woken by local police. A British officer has been murdered, and an RAMC signature is required for the post-mortem.

Shocked by the identity of the victim, the bizarre nature of the crime and what appears a too-convenient resolution, Finch turns detective. He is soon thrust into a perilous maze of espionage and murder.

Along with an Australian nurse, Annie, and an escaped diamond miner, Mbutu, Finch finds he has stumbled on a terrifying secret, one that will shake the Empire to its core...

An extraordinary and unputdownable historical crime thriller and Kindle bestseller, perfect for readers of Philip Kerr and Abir Mukherjee.

Praise for No Ordinary Killing


'Dawson has produced a strong thriller with something to say… An intriguing mix of John Buchan style adventuring and well researched period detail, full of superstition, mistrust and political intrigue… A very strong debut.' Sarah Ward, author of A Patient Fury

'Jeff is such a talented writer … I highly, highly recommend these' Making the Cut podcast

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2018
May 28
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
502
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SELLER
Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
SIZE
1.7
MB

Customer Reviews

Enna J. ,

Exciting historical mystery

I am an avid reader of historical fiction. No Ordinary Killing was my introduction to the South African conflict of the Boer Wars — the setting for the story. All the horror and desperation and disparity in a country at war, of man’s cruelty to his fellow man, was made real in this book. I appreciated Dawson’s evocative descriptions throughout — in my imagination, I formed very clear pictures of the people and places. The central plot involves a complex murder in the midst of a turbulent time. I found the characters engaging; I especially liked the relationships between Finch, Annie, and Brookman. The story was exciting and kept me turning the pages to the thrilling end — I finished the book in one sitting! I love it when I am both educated and entertained by a book, and I look forward to reading more by this author.

More Books by Jeff Dawson

2014
2011
2014
2014
2014
2013

Customers Also Bought

2018
2021
2019
2019
2021
2020

Other Books in This Series

2018
2020