• $6.99

Publisher Description

“No Way Down is both a gripping read and a clear-eyed investigation of the hubris, politics, and bad luck that brought on one of the worst disasters in modern mountaineering history.” — Michael Kodas, author of High Crimes: The Fate of Everest in an Age of Greed

“Graham Bowley’s No Way Down does a great job of putting you on the mountain. It is a refreshingly unadorned account of the true brutality of climbing K2, where heroes emerge and egos are stripped down, and the only thing achieving immortality is the cold ruthless mountain.” — Norman Ollestad, author of Crazy for the Storm

In the tradition of Into Thin Air and Touching the Void, No Way Down by New York Times reporter Graham Bowley is the harrowing account of the worst mountain climbing disaster on K2, second to Everest in height... but second to no peak in terms of danger. From tragic deaths to unbelievable stories of heroism and survival, No Way Down is an amazing feat of storytelling and adventure writing, and, in the words of explorer and author Sir Ranulph Fiennes, “the closest you can come to being on the summit of K2 on that fateful day.”

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2010
June 29
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
288
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins e-books
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
2.4
MB

Customer Reviews

Rockin Lawyer ,

OK but better books are out there

A decent account of the events on K2 but better books on the subject are out there. Ed Vestures book on this same subject is a better read. Additionally, Vestures book goes into the history of climbing K2 where this book only briefly mentions it. If you have not read Vestures' account of the events on K2, you will find this book enjoyable. If you have read Vestures' book, you can pass on this one

MMAAVV ,

Thorough, well-researched account

Very compiling reading. Discussed the events technically correct but easily understood by non-climbers. The loss of life was addressed with respect and dignity, and the sensitivity to family members was clear. Saying I "enjoyed" this is a wrong term because of the tragedy involved, but it is a page-turner, very well-written, and satisfying reading.

Jrs274 ,

Very tough to read

Poorly written, tough to follow.

More Books by Graham Bowley