• $3.99

Publisher Description

‘Wow… A fantastic, gripping read. As soon as I started reading it I knew I was going to love it, it grabbed me straight away and I couldn't put it down. I finished it in 2 sittings, staying up very late and then getting up very early as I just wanted to know how it was all going to finish.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


What if the person you trust most in the world is lying to you?

 

I’d heard of the Baby Caroline case, of course. When a baby is snatched from her mother’s arms, the whole country knows about it. I knew about the parents left lying by the swimming pool, the open window in the nursery. But I never dreamed it had anything to do with me.

 

Today, my beautiful daughter turned one. We were unwrapping gifts and blowing out candles when the knock came at the door, and they took my mother away.

 

The police say she’s not really my mother. That she stole me, thirty years ago.


When I visit her, desperate for answers, she looks me in the eye, and says nothing. I can barely breathe. Is my whole life a lie?


I have to find out, but the more I learn, the more scared I become. And soon I start to wonder, am I losing my grip on reality or is my own daughter in terrible danger?

 

An absolutely gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell.

 

See what readers are saying about Not My Mother:


“Absolutely addictive and gripping… Filled with twists and turns which will knock you sideways… It had me on the edge of my seat biting my nails and staying awake late at night to find out what happened next… I LOVED it” Bookworm 86, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Wow!… I devoured this in just one sitting and have been completely pulled in and addicted to this one… a magnificent masterpiece… a rollercoaster read and one I’ve thought about long after finishing. A definite five-star readLittle Miss Book Lover 87

 

I did not want to put this book down!! It grabbed me from the first page and I had to force myself to stop reading” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


AmazingI just couldn't stop reading it! Everytime I wanted to stop, my inner self screamed ‘One more chapter pleaseee’!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Absolutely amazing! It's twisty and shocking, it really kept me on the edge of my seatBooks Candles Cats, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Wow!… So compelling that I literally have a burn on my arm from my straightener because I couldn’t even put it down to do my hair!… Sucks you in from the beginning and the plot twists just keep coming… highly recommend this one to any psychological thriller addicts!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

You cannot put this book down!! It’s addicting. I loved it from the start to the very last page. I flew through the pages all afternoon.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Loved it!… Chilling, unputdownable, and fast paced!… Will make you flip like a madman, needing it to finish… Lots of thrills, chills, twisty turns, and shocks!” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Absolutely the best psychological thriller I’ve read in a long time!… Will take you on the ride of your life” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“From the beginning to the very end this book kept me page turning… I loved the twists, turns… I needed the answers!Musings by Maureen, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Just does not let go… I could not put it down. Even my dog is in a sulk as I haven’t walked her yet… I had to finish this story first.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

So many twists and turns you don't know which way is up… Totally addictive… Knows how to bring out your goose bumps and give you whole body chills.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
March 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
325
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
2.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Mlawyer112 ,

Loved!!!!!

My Review:

What a quick, easy, and wonderful read this was. I love when books just come together like this. Each chapter leaves you wanting more and you can’t put it down until you finish. This was my first read by this author and I loved it.

This book was about a daughter that was at odds about who her mother really was. Was she this evil person that supposedly kidnapped her so long ago? Or was she the loving mother that she’s always known that looked out for her and took care of her all her life? As the story progresses you find out who the real villain is.

I want to start off by saying how much I loved this book. It was such an enjoyable book and I can’t wait to read more from this author. Let’s talk characters. I really enjoyed Eileens character the most. Yes she was accused of a crime I find repulsive in so many ways but there was definitely a back story behind the crime. I loved Eileen’s story and I think anyone who reads the book will. I really felt for her. There was also another character that I felt for who will remain nameless since I feel really guilty for feeling this way about her. She had been the cause of all the problems these characters had in the book. On to the story. There are a few subjects that I really take to and kidnapping is one of them. I love a good kidnapping story and this one checked all the boxes. Now on to that roller coaster ride of an ending. It all started half way through the book. We got to find out a single test result that put in motion everything that happened in the second half of the book. As each chapter revealed more and more we finally got to that shocker of an ending that’s going to haunt me for a long time. What I concluded is that people can have a dark, evil side to them that will come out given the perfect storm.

Between the plot, characters and all the twists in this book it made it an easy and fast read. I would definitely recommend it and happily give it 5 Hearts❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

mads_maud ,

Too slow yo

Good premise, starts out rocking then slows to a dull roar. More feelings than action, which some people dig~ Just not me.

More Books by Miranda Smith