Nothing Special Nothing Special

Nothing Special

    • 3.8 • 12 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORKER AND TIME



From the author Sally Rooney called "bold, irreverent, and agonizingly funny," a wildly original coming-of-age novel about a teenage girl working at Andy Warhol's Factory in 1960s New York.



New York City, 1966. Seventeen-year-old Mae lives in a rundown apartment with her alcoholic mother and her mother's sometimes-boyfriend, Mikey. She is turned off by the petty girls at her high school, and the sleazy men she typically meets. When she drops out, she is presented with a job offer that will remake her world entirely: she is hired as a typist for the artist Andy Warhol.



Warhol is composing an unconventional novel by recording the conversations and experiences of his many famous and alluring friends. Tasked with transcribing these tapes alongside several other girls, Mae quickly befriends Shelley and the two of them embark on a surreal adventure at the fringes of the countercultural movement. Going to parties together, exploring their womanhood and sexuality, this should be the most enlivening experience of Mae's life. But as she grows increasingly obsessed with the tapes and numb to her own reality, Mae must grapple with the thin line between art and voyeurism and determine how she can remain her own person as the tide of the sixties sweeps over her.



For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh and Mary Gaitskill, this blistering, mordantly funny debut novel brilliantly interrogates the nature of friendship and independence and the construction of art and identity. Nothing Special is a whip-smart coming-of-age story that brings to life the experience of young girls in this iconic and turbulent American moment.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
July 11
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
240
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bloomsbury Publishing
SELLER
Bookwire Gesellschaft zum Vertrieb digitaler Medien mbH
SIZE
2.1
MB

More Books Like This

Crazy Love You Crazy Love You
2015
The High Moments The High Moments
2020
Girl Walking Backwards Girl Walking Backwards
2014
Devotion Devotion
2019
In the Drink In the Drink
1999
The Wrong Heaven The Wrong Heaven
2018

More Books by Nicole Flattery

Show Them a Good Time Show Them a Good Time
2020
Rien de spécial Rien de spécial
2024
Semmi különös Semmi különös
2023
Dans la joie et la bonne humeur Dans la joie et la bonne humeur
2020

Customers Also Bought

The Happy Couple The Happy Couple
2023
Post-traumatic Post-traumatic
2022
August Blue August Blue
2023
After the Funeral and Other Stories After the Funeral and Other Stories
2023
Shmutz Shmutz
2022
The Adult The Adult
2023