Of Things Gone Astray Of Things Gone Astray

Of Things Gone Astray

    • 3.7 • 3 Ratings
    • $7.99
    • $7.99

Publisher Description

Mrs Featherby had been having pleasant dreams until she woke to discover the front of her house had vanished overnight …

On a seemingly normal morning in London, a group of people all lose something dear to them, something dear but peculiar: the front of their house, their piano keys, their sense of direction, their place of work.

Meanwhile, Jake, a young boy whose father brings him to London following his mother’s sudden death in an earthquake, finds himself strangely attracted to other people’s lost things. But little does he realise that his most valuable possession is slipping away from him.

Of Things Gone Astray is a magical fable about modern life and values. Perfect for fans of Andrew Kaufman and Cecelia Ahern.

Reviews

‘I wanted to read this quickly but it kept making me stop to think. I love this stunning collection of quirky ideas, skillfully told, and any one of them could happen to any one of us, at any time.’ CECELIA AHERN

‘This book reveals the world as it really is: fantastic. A rare inspiring feat.’ ANDREW KAUFMAN

‘Of Things Gone Astray may be Janina Matthewson’s first novel, but it marks her out as a writer to follow … Reality, fantasy and imagery intermingle to create a beautiful whole.’ WE LOVE THIS BOOK

‘Refreshing and spare, like a bittersweet melody echoing in an empty hallway, Matthewson's debut novel will linger in the reader's memory.’ KIRKUS

About the author

Janina Matthewson is a writer and trained actress from Christchurch, New Zealand. She now lives in London. Of Things Gone Astray is her first full-length novel.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2014
August 28
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
288
Pages
PUBLISHER
The Friday Project
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.4
MB

More Books Like This

Life Before Life Before
2019
The Shadows in the Street The Shadows in the Street
2010
A Town Called Solace A Town Called Solace
2021
Night Music Night Music
2021
The Witch The Witch
2014
Where the River Runs Where the River Runs
2018

More Books by Janina Matthewson

You Feel It Just Below the Ribs You Feel It Just Below the Ribs
2021
The Understanding of Women The Understanding of Women
2012