Old Bones Lie

An unputdownable Scottish detective thriller

    • 4.2 • 40 Ratings
    • $5.99
    • $5.99

Publisher Description

DI Clare Mackay is about to face a test of her loyalty…

When a report comes in that a van containing two prison officers and a convicted jewel thief is missing, the police in St Andrews work quickly to locate the vehicle. Their efforts prove in vain when no trace is found and they realise the wives of both officers also appear to have left the area. Is this a case of corrupt guards springing a felon, or innocent people caught in the crossfire?

DI Clare Mackay leads the team but has to do without her right hand man; DS Chris West is a cousin to one of the missing prison officers and must not be involved in the case. With a new sergeant at her side plus a previously unencountered DCI, Clare’s people skills are pushed to the limit. Especially once she realises her boss is keeping her on the sidelines. Just what is it that Clare doesn’t know? And if she has to choose between keeping secrets from a friend, or letting slip something that could see a culprit go free, which path will she take?

A compelling addition to the bestselling series by a much-loved Scottish crime author, perfect for fans of Caro Ramsay, Lin Anderson and Alex Gray.

Praise for Old Bones Lie

‘This is an absolute cracker of a book. An authentic, twisty and compelling detective novel written by a new star of Tartan Noir.’ Neil Lancaster, author of The Blood Tide

Old Bones Lie is a fine example of the police procedural. Tightly plotted, cogently told with an ensemble of characters following the clues and navigating various twists like the professionals they are to reach a solution that is neither pat nor unbelievable. A hugely enjoyable read indeed.’ Douglas Skelton, author of An Honourable Thief

‘A combination of razor-sharp plotting, wholly believable characters and rock-solid writing – another excellent instalment to the DI Clare Mackay series.’ Alison Belsham, author of Death in Kabul

Old Bones Lie is Marion Todd at her very best - forensically intriguing and a bloody good read... literally.’ Jonathan Whitelaw, author of The Bingo Hall Detectives

It’s impossible to escape Marion’s grip on you in this captivating, compelling hunt for lost souls, buried truth and a heartless killer.’ Morgan Cry, author of Six Wounds

Brilliant storytelling, tense and riveting with the reassuring presence of the wonderful DI Clare Mackay, I loved Old Bones Lie!’ G.R. Halliday, author of Dark Waters

‘Marion Todd has excelled herself this time! 5 stars.’ Andrew James Greig, author of Whirligig

Gripping and complex. This is Marion Todd’s best yet. Her writing deepens and matures with each new book.’ Allan Martin, author of the Inspector Angus Blue novels

‘Another brilliant instalment to the DI Clare Mackay series. I couldn't stop reading. Plenty of twists and turns along the way, and just when you think you have it figured - you don't!’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

‘Marion Todd is one of my favourite authors and this book in the DI Mackay series doesn’t disappoint with twists and turns from start to finish. Great read, couldn’t put it down.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

‘The story starts with a bang and carries the reader with both great writing and a very good story. For me, Marion Todd is now sitting comfortably alongside Caro Ramsay as the two best crime writers in Scotland today.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

Old Bones Lie starts at a really fast pace and remains unrelenting as the story unfolds…The depth of research is plain to see, but the skill is in the storytelling, and I honestly believe that this is her best yet… ’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2022
July 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
383
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SELLER
Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
SIZE
1.3
MB

Customer Reviews

grannycha ,

Old Bones Lie

Very good

More Books by Marion Todd

2019
2020
2020
2021
2021
2022

Other Books in This Series

2019
2020
2020
2021
2021