• $4.99

Publisher Description

RITA AWARD FINALIST • Once they shared a night of passion. Now a chance encounter forces them back together. In Cecy Robson’s O’Brien Family series debut—perfect for readers of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—two total opposites find that the flames of desire are still smoldering.

Tough-as-steel cop Curran O’Brien is quickly rising through the ranks of the Philadelphia police department. But when his rookie partner is almost killed under his watch, Curran just wants to prove he still has what it takes to walk among Philly’s finest. So he’s pissed to be stuck on a cushy security assignment for the DA’s office . . . until he gets a good look at the sweet, straitlaced intern he’s supposed to protect—but not touch.

Tess Newart recognizes Curran instantly. How could she not? Back in college she tied this former frat boy to the bed with her argyle socks! That sizzling one-night stand was the only indiscretion Tess ever allowed herself. She has survived law school so far, despite being pushed to succeed by her overbearing father. Now that she’s interning on a major case against a ruthless crime boss, she won’t jeopardize her career by giving in to temptation again. She just never expected temptation to look so damn hot in uniform.

Tess knows her father has other plans for her, and they don’t include Curran. But soon she’s falling for him all over again. And when danger emerges, Curran will prove just how good a bad-boy cop can be.

Praise for Once Kissed

“Make room on your list of book boyfriends for Curran O’Brien! This bad-boy cop is fiercely protective of the feisty Tess, and the sexual tension between these two is off the charts!”USA Today bestselling author Lauren Layne

“Robson’s O’Brien family has the hottest brothers ever! . . . It’s impossible not to keep your fingers crossed for an HEA, but the author knows exactly what she’s doing as readers hold their breath during this roller-coaster ride of passion.”RT Book Reviews

“If you love a hot alpha male with a badge, you’ll love Cecy Robson’s Once Kissed.”New York Times bestselling author Claudia Connor

“A delightful and sensual read with a cheeky hero and a sharp heroine.”Heroes and Heartbreakers
 
“A riotous hit.”—Addicted to Happily Ever After
 
“Robson proves once again that she can sweep us off our feet with a fun, romantic tale. . . . [Once Kissed] is another must-read. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel.”—Rainy Day Ramblings
 
“[Robson] truly is a talented writer who never ceases to amaze me with her words.”—My Guilty Obsession
 
“Robson [is] an amazing author that captivates you with her words . . . I enjoyed [Once Kissed] immensely.”—Collector of Book Boyfriends & Girlfriends
 
“I was very pleased with Once Kissed and all it offered. Especially the laughs.”—Christy’s Love of Books

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2015
November 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
293
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
1.5
MB

Customer Reviews

glhince ,

you won’t be able to put this one down.

Curran is a police officer, still working through the guilt of a moment gone wrong when his partner, a rookie was almost killed. While everything sorts itself out from the administrative side, Curran has been placed on a security detail at the District Attorney’s office – for what he imagines will be a major yawn fest. He’s not happy with the whole idea, but his ‘assignment’ is both intriguing and somehow familiar.

Tess is in that strange middle ground of life: a good girl who worked incredibly hard to prove herself and build a solid reputation has to fight both the perceptions of others because of her father, and find a way to work around the control and meddling he exerts on her life. Getting the plum assignment working for Declan O’Brien on a major case, she’s excited to prove herself. And then, she is given a security detail. Once in her young life Tess has let down her guard and it had to be with HIM. The hot cop in uniform who is looking at her like a tiger at a sika deer. And all of her insecurities come to light.

Together these two are adorable: Curran has a habit of joking when things are uncomfortable, or to get to the point, and his humor comes forward repeatedly here: keeping everyone off guard and letting him deal with his own trials in private. Tess is learning that she has more strength than she believed, and she does have choices and options. In fact, one is right there at arm’s length – Curran. Robson builds characters that are HUMAN – no they aren’t always doing the right thing, or even particularly likable all the time, but you understand them and their struggles, and like them even more for the growth and heart they display. When you add in the family relationship between the O’Briens and that lovely mix of personalities that fights, picks, supports and above all loves one another no matter what, this story becomes so much more than just a tale about Curran and Tess. As a first story for the series, the introductions to the family, the heart that beams through and the intrigue coming from outside with the trial and Tess’ history with her father and the issues that causes you won’t be able to put this one down.

I purchased a copy of the title for my personal library. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

Groomsmom ,

Once Kissed

Once Kissed ( O'Brien Family Book #1) Cecy Robson

This is the first novel in a new series by Ms. Robson. It follows the O'Brien family, seven wild and crazy siblings (6 boys and one girl) who work and party around Philadelphia. This first story centers around Curran, a police officer with a tough as nails reputation. Curran's self-esteem and emotions were recently rocked by the near death of his rookie partner and he feels responsible. His superiors feel he needs some time to get his head together, so he has been assigned to bodyguard duty for his brother Declan's intern. Declan is an Asst. D.A. and working on a dangerous high profile case that involves a mafia leader. Fear of retaliation is high.

Contessa Newhart is Declan's intern. She is in her last year of law school, seems shy, very understated, almost frumpy, but a very hard worker. When Contessa (Tess) walks into Declan's office to meet her protector, she is rocked to her core. This tall gorgeous man with piercing blue eyes and Tess had a brief encounter in college. On her one and only escape from her boring routine, her friends convince her to go to frat party, and she remembers every moment, unfortunately so does he! He immediately calls her argyles, the socks she wears frequently, and actually tied him up with. His teasing and banter with Tess is hysterical until he realizes behind the shy mousey exterior is a very intelligent woman who has been traumatized by someone who should have been protecting her.

This is a very sexy romance between two people who have serious issues and find themselves needing each other more than they could possibly have imagined. Danger is lurking, but Connor has promised to protect her with all that he has. But, how do you protect someone from their own father?
I really enjoyed this novel, and can't wait to read the next in this very entertaining series.
I received this ARC from the publisher and NetGalley for my honest review.
Pat Fordyce

lab9197 ,

Love this author

Having read all the Shattered Past series, I was looking forward to this one. I like how the characters from the Shattered Past series are intertwined with this book. However you do not need to read those first to enjoy this book. While in law school, Tess works as an intern at the District Attorney’s office. She is handed the opportunity to work in a high profile case with the Assistant District Attorney, Declan. Since this case involves a certain amount of risk of retaliation by the accused, Tess is provided protection. The cop assigned to her is Declan’s brother, Curran. He makes it known he is less than thrilled with the assignment. But because he is on modified duty he figures this is more exciting than sitting at a desk. When they first meet each other, they are shocked. They have a past. One thing I like about this author is she is able to not only to pull at your emotional strings, but she does it in a humorous way. Both Tess and Curran are dealing with deep emotional baggage. However I did not think it detracted from the story. What I like about this book is the romance builds over time; it is not insta-love. The characters are well developed and complex. There is not a lot of internal dialogue to distract from the story. By the end, Curran and Tess are able to confront their demons. I like how Tess has the confidence to confront her father. She also sets the tone for the next book. So far I have not been disappointed in any book by Cecy Robson. I look forward to Declan’s story next.

More Books by Cecy Robson