Once More We Saw Stars

A Memoir

    • 4.4 • 194 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

“A gripping and beautiful book about the power of love in the face of unimaginable loss.”
 --Cheryl Strayed

For readers of The Bright Hour and When Breath Becomes Air, a moving, transcendent memoir of loss and a stunning exploration of marriage in the wake of unimaginable grief.


As the book opens: two-year-old Greta Greene is sitting with her grandmother on a park bench on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. A brick crumbles from a windowsill overhead, striking her unconscious, and she is immediately rushed to the hospital. But although it begins with this event and with the anguish Jayson and his wife, Stacy, confront in the wake of their daughter's trauma and the hours leading up to her death, Once More We Saw Stars quickly becomes a narrative that is as much about hope and healing as it is about grief and loss. Jayson recognizes, even in the midst of his ordeal, that there will be a life for him beyond it--that if only he can continue moving forward, from one moment to the next, he will survive what seems unsurvivable. With raw honesty, deep emotion, and exquisite tenderness, he captures both the fragility of life and absoluteness of death, and most important of all, the unconquerable power of love. This is an unforgettable memoir of courage and transformation--and a book that will change the way you look at the world.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2019
May 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
256
Pages
PUBLISHER
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
3.7
MB

Customer Reviews

dumazzei ,

Good Reading.

Way too sad for me.

TexasBrandi ,

Heartbreakingly beautiful

Heartbreaking but so beautiful at the same time. I read it in two days. Couldn’t put the book down I was so invested. Rest In Peace Nick :)

musi-c-raze ,

There are no words

It has taken me years to finish reading this book due to how emotionally charged it is. It is so raw and beautifully, excruciatingly heartbreaking, and real. As a mother of a young child, my heart aches for this family. They have endured an unimaginable loss. Because of this book, I squeeze my daughter a little bit tighter every day and I am more patient and kind. To Stacy, Jayson, Susan, and to everyone who had the pleasure and privilege of loving Greta, my heart goes out to you. Thank you for sharing your story. I know that not one single day goes by that you don’t think of Greta and her legacy lives on through each of you and through this book.

More Books by Jayson Greene

Customers Also Bought

2018
2017
2022
2019
2020
2017