• $12.99

Publisher Description

“A gripping and beautiful book about the power of love in the face of unimaginable loss.”
 --Cheryl Strayed

For readers of The Bright Hour and When Breath Becomes Air, a moving, transcendent memoir of loss and a stunning exploration of marriage in the wake of unimaginable grief.


As the book opens: two-year-old Greta Greene is sitting with her grandmother on a park bench on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. A brick crumbles from a windowsill overhead, striking her unconscious, and she is immediately rushed to the hospital. But although it begins with this event and with the anguish Jayson and his wife, Stacy, confront in the wake of their daughter's trauma and the hours leading up to her death, Once More We Saw Stars quickly becomes a narrative that is as much about hope and healing as it is about grief and loss. Jayson recognizes, even in the midst of his ordeal, that there will be a life for him beyond it--that if only he can continue moving forward, from one moment to the next, he will survive what seems unsurvivable. With raw honesty, deep emotion, and exquisite tenderness, he captures both the fragility of life and absoluteness of death, and most important of all, the unconquerable power of love. This is an unforgettable memoir of courage and transformation--and a book that will change the way you look at the world.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2019
May 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
256
Pages
PUBLISHER
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
1.8
MB

Customer Reviews

dumazzei ,

Good Reading.

Way too sad for me.

schoenbergersm ,

An excellent read

Quite possibly one of the best books I’ve read in a LONG time. So beautifully told and heartbreakingly honest. Very impressive.

Kencamper ,

Breathtaking and Heart Rending

This is a stunningly beautiful book, flawlessly told hand gripping from beginning to end, every parent's nightmare told with love and beautifully written. It is a gift to all who seek to understand and feel what it means to unexpectedly lose a loved one. Unexpectedly or not, all of us will face the loss of loved ones and all of us will face our own death. This is a gem of a book that seeks to plumb the depths of the mystery of those experiences.