One Day You'll Burn One Day You'll Burn
1 - LAPD Detective Tully Jarsdel Mysteries

One Day You'll Burn

    • 3.8 • 62 Ratings
    • $15.99
    • $15.99

Publisher Description

"A brilliant first novel. Joseph Schneider's contemporary writing evokes some of Hollywood's most classic crime stories, from Chinatown to LA Confidential."—Dick Wolf, creator of Law & Order

An incredible debut from up-and-coming author Joseph Schneider. Detective Tully Jarsdel may not be a typical Los Angeles cop—but he's the only one who can solve this case

A body so badly burned that it could be mistaken for a movie prop... except for the smell. That's not something California law enforcement finds lying on the street every day. And when Detective Tully Jarsdel is called to the scene, it's clear to him that something about the placement of the corpse is intentional, even ritualistic. Jarsdel isn't a classic noir detective, but his former career in academia seems to finally be coming in handy, rather than serving as material for jokes from his partner, Morales.

But nothing Jarsdel learned in school can prepare him for the deep evil behind this case, which appears to be as hopeless as it is violent. As Jarsdel and Morales attempt to settle their differences and uncover the motive behind the horrendous crime, they find themselves dragged into the underbelly of a city notorious for chewing up and spitting out anyone dumb enough to turn their back on survival.

One Day You'll Burn is a shimmering debut that captures the glitz and squalor of Los Angeles while introducing an unforgettable detective readers will rank among the best in the genre.

The first in the LAPD Detective Jarsdel series, this detective mystery is:

• For readers who love murder mysteries and police procedurals
• Perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and Lawrence Block
• For fans of the T.V. series Bones and C.S.I

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
February 4
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Sourcebooks
SELLER
Sourcebooks, Inc.
SIZE
2.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Lisa Bateman ,

Very original

This was a great read. It was very original. The characters were well developed and I could picture the story playing out like a movie in my head. One thing I enjoyed the most was how we get a look at LA. Living in a small town with only a few red lights all my life, it’s hard for me to picture what LA life would be like. I would love to go there some day. The cover of the book is gorgeous and is great for a book set in LA.

The two detectives in the book have seen their fair share of heartache and the bad side some humans can have. They’ve also experienced some bad stuff personally in life. This makes them all the better at their job. I recommend this book to anyone who likes to read suspenseful crime novels.

Mbohle15 ,

3.5 Debut Crime Author Stars

If you like shows like Law & Order: SVU or Criminal Minds, then I would pick One Day You’ll Burn up. There are a few POV’s throughout the novel, but the main lead, Detective Tully Jarsdel is a scholar turned detective and he brings a unique analytical edge to the cases he and his partner, Morales, are trying to solve. This one is a bit graphic and violent, in many ways. But the graphic nature of the crimes and the empathy you have for the victims lends to the emotions that make the reader care and want these detectives to solve the case and catch the bad guys. It took a bit for me to truly invest in this story, but once I did I could not stop turning pages. Mystery, thrills, a dash of romance. This was a great first novel, and I can’t wait to read more from this author!

More Books Like This

Bloody River Blues Bloody River Blues
2001
The First Law The First Law
2003
Those Who Betray Those Who Betray
2010
John Lescroart: The Dismas Hardy Novels John Lescroart: The Dismas Hardy Novels
2012
Let It Snow Let It Snow
2019
Double Homicide Double Homicide
2004

More Books by Joseph Schneider

What Waits for You What Waits for You
2021
The Darkest Game The Darkest Game
2022
Saint Benoît pour tous Saint Benoît pour tous
2022
Handicap et participation Handicap et participation
2021

Customers Also Bought

Shifty's Boys Shifty's Boys
2022
Dead West Dead West
2020
The Killing Hills The Killing Hills
2021
Under Pressure Under Pressure
2020
Lost Tomorrows Lost Tomorrows
2019
Broken Ice Broken Ice
2018

Other Books in This Series

What Waits for You What Waits for You
2021
The Darkest Game The Darkest Game
2022