• $12.99

Publisher Description

Teddy Roosevelt comes to comic life in Jerome Charyn’s “tremendous[ly] fun . . . delightful novel” (Ron Charles, Washington Post).

Widely considered “one of our most rewarding novelists,” Jerome Charyn “has upped the ante” (Larry McMurtry) by re-creating the voice of Theodore Roosevelt through his derring-do adventures as New York City police commissioner, Rough Rider, and soon-to-be twenty-sixth president. Beginning with his sickly childhood and concluding with McKinley’s assassination in 1901, Charyn positions Roosevelt as a fearless crime fighter and pioneering environmentalist who would grow up to be our greatest peacetime president. With an operatic cast, including “Bamie,” his handicapped older sister; Eleanor, his gawky little niece; as well as the devoted Rough Riders; the novel memorably features the lovable mountain lion Josephine, who helped train Roosevelt for his “crowded hour,” the charge up San Juan Hill. “Graced with vivid, vigorous writing” (Gerard Helferich, Wall Street Journal), The Perilous Adventures of the Cowboy King is a rollicking work of historical fiction that will appeal to fans of Michael Chabon’s The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
January 8
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Liveright
SELLER
W.W. Norton & Company, Inc.
SIZE
8
MB

More Books by Jerome Charyn