• $5.99

Publisher Description

In PERILOUS TRUST, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author Barbara Freethy brings you the first book in a new romantic suspense series! OFF THE GRID: FBI Series offers breath-stealing books filled with action-packed plot, heart-stopping romance, and page-turning suspense.


It was one dark night that brought Damon Wolfe and Sophie Parker together. They were two tortured souls, looking for escape, and they weren't supposed to see each other ever again…


Four years later, Sophie's FBI father, who is also Damon's mentor, is killed in a suspicious car crash after leaving Sophie a cryptic message to trust no one from the agency. When Damon shows up looking for her, she isn't sure if he's friend or enemy, but she knows he could easily rip apart what is left of her heart.


The last thing Damon wants is to get involved with Sophie again. It was hard enough to walk away the first time. But she's in trouble, her father's reputation is under attack, and the lives of his fellow agents are at stake if there's a traitor in their midst. 


When someone starts shooting at them, they have no choice but to go on the run and off the grid. Everyone in their world becomes a suspect. They want to uncover the truth, but will it turn out to be the last thing they expect? Proving her father's innocence might just cost them their hearts…and their lives…


Check out the rest of the series!

Perilous Trust #1

Reckless Whisper #2 

Desperate Play #3  

Elusive Promise #4 

Dangerous Choice #5 

Ruthless Cross #6 - Coming Soon


REVIEWS FOR PERILOUS TRUST! 


"Perilous Trust is a non-stop thriller that seamlessly melds jaw-dropping suspense with sizzling romance, and I was riveted from the first page to the last…Readers will be breathless in anticipation as this fast-paced and enthralling love story evolves and goes in unforeseeable directions." USA Today HEA Blog 


"Barbara Freethy's first book in her OFF THE GRID series is an emotional, action packed, crime drama that keeps you on the edge of your seat…I'm exhausted after reading this but in a good way. 5 Stars!" Booklovers Anonymous


"Getting tangled up with Perilous Trust is a rush. Barbara Freethy sets the adrenaline level so high that it takes a while to come back down to solid ground. A tortured love affair sets off a chain of events that are explosive and deadly. The suspense is killer, the danger is intense and the electricity generated between Sophie and Damon is off the charts. All come together to a create a lethally seductive thriller." Isha Coleman – I Love Romance Blog


"The adventure that Barbara Freethy takes us on in PERILOUS TRUST is full of twists and turns. It is a perfect suspense that will keep you guessing until the very last moment. This book definitely deserves 5 stars." Reading Escape Reviews 


"Perilous Trust was an action packed romantic suspense novel that from the first page you are bang in the middle of the story. I liked Barbara' Freethy's writing, the story was told in duel POVs which definitely made for a good read to see both perspectives of the case developing. I also liked the side characters woven into the story. I am looking forward to seeing more of them in the series." Reading Away the Days Blog 


PRAISE FOR BARBARA FREETHY BOOKS


"Powerful and absorbing...sheer hold-your-breath suspense."-- NYT Bestselling Author Karen Robards on Don’t Say A Word


"A fabulous, page-turning combination of romance and intrigue. Fans of Nora Roberts and Elizabeth Lowell will love this book." NYT Bestselling Author Kristin Hannah on Golden Lies


"In the tradition of LaVyrle Spencer, gifted author Barbara Freethy creates an irresistible tale of family secrets, riveting adventure and heart- touching romance." -- NYT Bestselling Author Susan Wiggs on Summer Secrets


"If you love nail-biting suspense and heartbreaking emotion, Silent Run belongs on the top of your to-be-bought list. I could not turn the pages fast enough." — NYT Bestselling Author Mariah Stewart on Silent Run


"Hooked me from the start and kept me turning pages throughout all the twists and turns. Silent Run is powerful romantic intrigue at its best." — NYT Bestselling Author JoAnn Ross on Silent Run


"An absorbing story of two people determined to unravel the secrets, betrayals, and questions about their past. The story builds to an explosive conclusion that will leave readers eagerly awaiting Barbara Freethy’s next book." — NYT Bestselling Author Carla Neggars on Don’t Say A Word


"Freethy is at the top of her form. Fans of Nora Roberts will find a similar tone here, framed in Freethy’s own spare, elegant style." — Contra Costa Times on Summer Secrets

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2017
August 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
301
Pages
PUBLISHER
Fog City Publishing, LLC
SELLER
Fog City Publishing LLC
SIZE
6.8
MB

Customer Reviews

Kcnjmg ,

Perilous Trust

Really enjoyed this book, it was full of suspense & action with a little bit of inner thoughts, highly recommend it👍🏻

Paula-1880 ,

A New Author, A New Series, A Satisfying Read

Perilous Trust was my first introduction to NYT Bestselling Author Barbara Freethy, and it didn't disappoint. It's a tightly written, well-structured, suspenseful second-chance romance, with well-developed characters, an undercurrent of sadness with a touch of regret, and intense sexual chemistry. It hooked me from the climactic first scene and kept me turning the pages from beginning to end. I read it in less than a day, and the tight pacing had everything to do with that. It was an easy read, suspenseful enough to keep me guessing but not so anxiety-producing that I had to stop to take a breath (or dread turning the page).

Both principal characters--Damon Wolfe, an ex-military FBI agent, and Sophie Parker, the daughter of Damon's mentor--are smart, strong, and resourceful, willing to risk everything to expose the mole (or moles) in the FBI that led to her father's tragic death. Their shared history, forged through a common bond with a now-deceased friend, ended too soon, leaving them with some serious unfinished business. Their unanswered questions hang in the air between them, but exploring them is essential to developing the level of intimacy and the trust they will need to survive their race against a ruthless team of unknown assailants.

The secondary characters, primarily two trusted FBI colleagues from Damon's days in Quantico, are introduced here to support the discovery of the conspiracy that could bring them all down; but they also pave the way for development as principal characters in future installments of the series. They are nuanced and prime for further development as the series continues.

The only drawback for me was the delayed introduction of the primary villain. I found it a bit "too convenient," and consequently, the end came together a bit too quickly (and felt a little too easy). It seems rushed, especially after the build-up of other evidence in the case. And, while the sexual attraction between Damon and Sophie was steamy, when they finally gave into temptation, their sensual encounters felt a little flat for me.

Nevertheless, I enjoyed this story and felt deeply for all of its characters. I love crime dramas, so romantic suspense is my favorite go-to genre. I gravitate to darker, breath-taking, heart-pounding romantic thrillers; but to be honest, this well-crafted story was a respite for me. It was suspenseful without being terrifying, which made it a perfect, relatively light weekend read and a perfect start to a series I'm eager to read and certain to enjoy.

neecee2hj ,

Perilous

I enjoyed this book very much! The storyline hooked me from the beginning and never let go.

More Books by Barbara Freethy

Other Books in This Series