Phaedra

A Novel

    • 3.7 • 26 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

Debut novelist Laura Shepperson offers a powerful feminist retelling of Phaedra and her unyielding quest for justice, perfect for fans of Madeline Miller and Natalie Haynes.

Phaedra has been cast to the side all her life: daughter of an adulteress, sister of a monster, and now unwilling bride to the much-older, power-hungry Theseus. Young, naïve, and idealistic, she has accepted her lot in life, resigned to existing under the sinister weight of Theseus’s control and the constant watchful eye of her handsome stepson Hippolytus.
 
When supposedly pious Hippolytus assaults her, Phaedra’s world is darkened in the face of untouchable, prideful power. In the face of injustice, Phaedra refuses to remain quiet any longer: such an awful truth demands to be brought to light. When Phaedra publicly accuses Hippolytus of rape, she sparks an overdue reckoning.
 
The men of Athens gather to determine the truth. Meanwhile, the women of the city, who have no vote, are gathering in the shadows. The women know truth is a slippery thing in the hands of men. There are two sides to every story, and theirs has gone unheard. Until now.
 
Timely, unflinching, and transportive, Laura Shepperson’s Phaedra carves open long-accepted wounds to give voice to one of the most maligned figures of mythology and offers a stunning story of how truth bends under the weight of patriarchy but can be broken open by the force of one woman’s bravery.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
January 10
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
CROOKED LANE BOOKS
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
2.6
MB

Customer Reviews

pooper anonymous ,

Good read

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I had a difficult time setting it down at any point—it broke my heart, enraged me, and, above all, captivated me.

DrWolf333 ,

Unable to put down

I could not put this down. Thank you.

More Books Like This

2012
2010
2020
2019
2016
2020

More Books by Laura Shepperson

2024
2023
2023

Customers Also Bought

2022
2023
2022
2018
2021
2021