Pleasing Mr Pepys

A vibrant tale of history brought to life

    • 4.0 • 1 Rating
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Anne O'Brien and Elizabeth Chadwick, Deborah Swift brings a unique period in history to vivid, fascinating life in her acclaimed Pepys trilogy.

'Laced with emotional intensity and drama,
Pleasing Mr Pepys . . . (has) an intricate plot that features red herrings, unexpected twists, and surprises that will take readers on a very delightful ride' Readers' Favorite

'Deb Willet, Elizabeth Pepys's maid and the object of Samuel Pepys's attentions, is finally given centre-stage after 350 years, and her tale was worth waiting for. This is exceptional story-telling' L. C. TYLER

From acclaimed historical novelist Deborah Swift, Pleasing Mr Pepys is the story of diarist Samuel Pepys' London, vibrantly told through the eyes of his maid.
..................................................

Deb Willet is desperate to escape her domineering aunt and takes a position as companion to Elisabeth Pepys, Samuel's wife. Deb believes it will give her the respectability and freedom she craves - but it proves far more complicated than she could ever have imagined.

London is still in ruins from the Great Fire. Although Charles II has been restored to the throne, there is the prospect of war with the Dutch - the world's great sea power of the era. In the midst of this tumult strides Samuel Pepys, diarist and man of note.

Pepys' influence in Restoration London means that the Dutch are keen to get their hands on his secrets - even if that means murder, espionage and blackmail to get them. Deb is soon caught up in a web of deception and double-dealing. And with Mr Pepys' attentions turned towards her, there's a lot more than treason at stake...

Selling other people's secrets is a dangerous game...
..................................................


Readers can't get enough of Deborah's VIBRANT and IMMERSIVE tales:

'Deborah Swift has produced a remarkable work of historical fiction . . . Swift spins an excellent tale. The characters, too are just fabulous and utterly believable' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'Having read all Deborah Swift's novels, this is her usual, beautifully atmospheric rendition of an interesting time in 17th century England' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'What an excellent novel! Superb story telling . . . I highly recommend Pleasing Mr Pepys and very much look forward to a sequel' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'This book is an exciting thriller, a real page turner. I read it in a couple of days I was so absorbed in the development of the plot . . . Go out and buy it' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Don't miss Deborah Swift's other enthralling tales of Samuel Pepys - A Plague of Mr Pepys and Entertaining Mr Pepys - OUT NOW!

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2017
September 28
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
2.5
MB

More Books by Deborah Swift

2012
2020
2019
2018

Other Books in This Series

2019
2018