Poison or Protect: A Delightfully Deadly Novella

    • 4.6 • 69 Ratings
    • $4.99
    • $4.99

Publisher Description

A sexy assassin, a sexy Scottish spy, and two lobsters attend a Victorian house party.

New York Times bestselling comedy of manners author Gail Carriger brings you a charming story of love and espionage set in her popular Parasolverse.

ASSASSIN

Lady Preshea Villentia, the Mourning Star, has four dead husbands and a nasty reputation. Fortunately, she looks fabulous in black. What society doesn't know is that all her husbands were marked for death by Preshea's employer. And Preshea has one final assignment.

VERSUS SCOTSMAN

It was supposed to be easy, a house party with minimal bloodshed. Preshea hadn't anticipated Captain Gavin Ruthven – massive, Scottish, quietly irresistible, and… working for the enemy.

In a battle of wits, Preshea may risk her own heart – a terrifying prospect, as she never knew she had one.

"This intoxicatingly witty parody will appeal to a wide cross-section of romance, fantasy and steampunk fans." ~ Publishers Weekly, starred review (Soulless)

May contain plaid, gentlemen eating dainty tea sandwiches, and the strategic application of leather gloves. Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Outlander in this seductive story from the author of the Parasol Protectorate books. Perfect for fans of Ilona Andrews, Lindsay Buroker, or Diana Gabaldon.

From the author of the Finishing School series, featuring deadly ladies of quality, this story stands alone but you can find out what happened to the next generation in Reticence or read the next in the series Defy or defend.

Delicate Sensibilities?

Contains men pleasing women, and ladies who know what they want and ask for it, sometimes in detail. If you like that kind of thing, you'll also enjoy How to Marry a Werewolf.

Also by Gail Carriger set in the Parasolverse

The Curious Case of the Werewolf that Wasn't

The Finishing School series (start with Etiquette & Espionage)

The Delightfully Deadly novellas

The Parasol Protectorate series (start with Soulless)

The Supernatural Society novellas

The Custard Protocol series (start with Prudence)

The Claw & Courtship novellas

As G L Carriger

The San Andreas Shifter series (start with The Sumage Solution)

The 5th Gender

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2016
June 21
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
197
Pages
PUBLISHER
GAIL CARRIGER LLC
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
424
KB

Customer Reviews

Murasaki9 ,

Tip-top romp

Following the villainess we love to hate--or at least critique--from the Finishing School series (not required reading to enjoy the this latest) Carriger takes us on an exciting jaunt through the English countryside. Vampires, werewolves, subterfuge, attractive Scotsmen, and tiny tea sandwiches, what more could one want? "Delightfully Deadly" way to spend an afternoon, can't wait for more of these little gems!

Quirky27 ,

Preshea vs Dimity

The Delightfully Deadly series is my favorite of Carriger’s series. While Carriger’s writing style is always witty, the voice of her characters come through most clearly in this series. Preshea’s caution, calculation, and cynicism temper Poison Or Protect’s wit and humor; which creates a very different mood from Dimity’s sparkling and playful story in the second book of the series.

gurukaram ,

Steamy fun!

Gail Carriger give us lots of steamy fun when an assassin/intelligencer trained in a famous floating finishing school meets a large Scotsman who only wants to please her.

More Books by Gail Carriger

2009
2011
2010
2010
2015
2013

Customers Also Bought

2011
2011
2013
2014
2012
2012

Other Books in This Series

2020
2021