• $6.99

Publisher Description

From New York Times Bestselling Author Maria V. Snyder

Choose: a quick death… or slow poison…

Locked deep in the palace dungeon for killing her abuser, Yelena knows she’ll never be free again. The laws in Ixia are strict, and murderers must be executed, no matter the reason. But just as she’s resigned herself to her fate, she’s offered an extraordinary reprieve.

As the food taster, Yelena will eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace—and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia. To make matters worse, the chief of security deliberately feeds her Butterfly’s Dust, and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison.

As Yelena tries to escape her new dilemma, disasters keep mounting. Rebels plot to seize Ixia and Yelena develops magical powers she can’t control. Her life is threatened again, and in order to survive, she must unravel the secrets behind the past she’s been running from.

The Chronicles of Ixia Series by Maria V Snyder

Book One: Poison Study

Book Two: Magic Study

Book Three: Fire Study

Book Four: Storm Glass

Book Five: Sea Glass

Book Six: Spy Glass

Book Seven: Shadow Study

Book Eight: Night Study

Book Nine: Dawn Study

Fiction & Literature
August 15
MIRA Books
Harlequin Digital Sales Corporation

Customer Reviews

scubadp ,

Great Pace

The writing is fluid and the pacing keeps you reading. The cover art is so laughably incorrect to the true nature of the book and I'm extremely happy for that.

Resrie13 ,

Good read

The book was really good. There was not too much foreshadowing as to be annoying, and it kept me captivated enough to read in one sitting. I'm not sure what was up with the cover art, which doesn't have anything to do with this book.

Mollyrose225 ,


The best series I have ever read. The ONLY one I could ever read twice and I think I'm going to read it a third time... I wish there were more to the series... I don't want to read about opal I want Yelena and Valek :(

More Books by Maria V. Snyder

Other Books in This Series