• $12.99

Publisher Description

The first in The Wolf Chronicles trilogy, brilliantly weaving together original research, lovable characters and a dynamic, thoroughly engaging plot, Promise of the Wolves is a historical adventure story in the tradition of Clan of the Cave Bear and Watership Down.

Set 14,000 years ago in what is now Southern Europe, Promise of the Wolves is told from the point of view of Kaala, a young wolf born of a forbidden, mixed-blood litter. An outcast after her mother is exiled, Kaala struggles to earn her place in her pack. But her world is turned upside down when she rescues a human girl from drowning. Kaala and her young packmates begin hunting and playing with humans—risking expulsion from their pack and banishment from their home in the Wide Valley.

When war between humans and wolves threatens, Kaala learns that she is the last in a long line of wolves charged with keeping watch over humans in order to prevent them from losing touch with nature and thus destroying the world. But to do so she must solve the great paradox of wolfkind: though wolves must always be with humans, humans cannot abide the presence of wolves, and every time the two come together, war ensues. Kaala must choose between safety for herself, her friends, and their human companions and the survival of her pack—and perhaps all of wolf and humankind.

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2008
June 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
1
MB

Customer Reviews

Canisthelupus ,

AMAZING

THIS HAS GOT TO BE ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS EVER!!!!! I'm the kind of person that likes books like White Fang or Call Of The Wild, and at first I was just interested with the cover of the book. When I started to read this I was literally "changed" in the way I see the world. You get a odd feeling as you read the words that Dorothy Hearst magically winded into the book. I can't wait for the next book to come out! If you love wolves and animals in general, You'll love this book!

Killallya ,

AMAZINGNESS

I have a paperback copy of this book (and book #2, Secrets of the Wolf), but I wanted to leave a review here anyway because the series is just that great! I've read it through multiple times and I just can't get enough of it! MORE PLEASE!!!

butterfly32770 ,

Loved it

Excellent story with great character development. I am sad that it had to end. I always feel a little lost when I finish a book and this is no exception. I definitely recommend this book to young adults and up.

More Books by Dorothy Hearst