Protected in Darkness

    • 4.4 • 17 Ratings
    • $4.99
    • $4.99

Publisher Description

Heaven refers to them as Misplaced Halos. 

Humans don’t even know they exist. 

This faction of celestial warriors was sent here under the cover of darkness to protect humanity from Lucifer’s demons. In return for their servitude, these warriors expect only one thing: the love they were promised, what angels refer to as an amsouelot.  

The first of his kind, Obsidian has spent the past fifteen hundred years fighting alongside his brothers, protecting humans from Lucifer’s demons, all while keeping to the shadows. Their mission is simple, right up until it isn’t. The day Obsidian learns of a traitor in Heaven is the day everything changes. The entire reason for his existence is put on hold because there’s a new assignment: find the female whose soul belongs to his and protect her, no matter the cost.

Penelope Calazans spends her days sleeping and her nights serving free drinks to the gamblers looking to win big in Sin City. It’s not a glamorous life, perhaps a tad lonely, but she’s content. Or she thought she was. Then he appears. The mystery man who would turn out not to be a man at all, but rather an angel. The angel who would turn Penelope’s mundane life upside down, revealing what really lurks in the dark.

Not only do they have to battle the demons looking to possess their souls, but Obsidian and Penelope must overcome the obstacles that come with falling in love. In the end, an angel and a human must make the ultimate sacrifice, all in the name of a love everlasting.

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
October 22
Nicole Edwards Limited
SL Independent Publishing

Customer Reviews

Wookiee 45 ,

Penelope and Obsidian

3.5 stars for - Protected in Darkness - book one in the Misplaced Halos series by Nicole Edwards. This is the start of a new series and Ms. Edwards first ever paranormal romance which is one of my favorite genres when done right. I went into this book hoping I would love it like I do all of her work but there was a lot going on and it got confusing more than once which caused me to have to go back an reread parts to try and figure out what exactly was going on. The only other issue I had was this book was very tame for Nicole and lacked the signature heat I have loved from her in the past therefore I felt while the main characters had chemistry it wasn't with the usual combustion she sets the pages on fire with.
Obsidian is an angel that protects humans from the demons of Lucifer. He along with his brothers learn that their soulmates are in danger after someone got ahold of a list that is supposed to be sacred. With only her name to go on he must find her somewhere in North America before Lucifer gets ahold of her.
Penelope moved to Las Vegas to be close to her brother and works nights as a cocktail waitress. She lives a rather lonely existence with only her best friend in Los Angeles to talk to until a giant beautiful man walks into her life and turns it upside down. Everything she thought only existed in her favorite books lurks around every dark corner and she has no idea what's coming next.
I will definitely continue on with this series as it hopefully irons out the kinks. Many of the characters are quite interesting and will make for interesting reading too.


There really are Angels...and Demons!!

Wow!! Just Wow!! Nicole Edwards decides to take a dip into the paranormal genre with Protected in Darkness, but she did not dip, she jumped right on in!! This book was fantastic!! Yes it is the start of a series, but this book is so different from other paranormal books that I have read. The premises of the book is so different. There are 7 brothers...or rather Angels who need to find their soulmates (amouselots) or else...and yeah, since we are talking angels, demons, vampires and the like, we are talking end of world consequences here!! Wow!! I will admit that some of the names and terms used in the books to describe the characters are unusual, but they basically are pronounced the way they are spelled, so it won’t be difficult. And if you get stuck just remember we all got stuck on those Greek Mythology names, but it never ever took away from the story, so read on and enjoy!!

Protected in Darkness is the book that sets up the series, but it is also Obsidian and Penelope’s journey, and what a journey it is!! Wow!! Obsidian, this absolutely gorgeous man, who is almost 7 feet tall, has lots of secrets that need to be told, and who is searching for his soulmate Penelope, who is this tiny cute little lady. Once he finds her it is definitely a race against the clock for both of them to make the needed connection.

All I can say is that the world that Nicole Edwards has set up with this series will absolutely intrigue, engross and consume you!! So, be prepared to not stop reading until you are finished!! I cannot wait for the next book in this series!! Bravo, Nicole Edwards!! Bravo!!

TAMacLeod ,

I was blown away and in such a fantastic way

I have been a fan of Nicole’s since 2012 and have every one of her books, but when I heard she was trying a new genre, paranormal, I was a bit skeptical. Paranormal was so different from her other books, and to write a book where are already fabulous authors out there who rock this subject, I just couldn’t understand why she wanted to go there. Boy oh boy, I am so glad she took this one, Nicole ROCKED IT! She caught me at the first few sentences and I could put it down. She even mentions the other amazing authors and gives them credit for writing those books in such a way that I was cheering out loud.

Obsidian and Penelope Calazans are fated to be each others perfect mate, but they have to meet, fall in love and go through a ceremony to seal their souls together for eternity. If that seems just a little bit challenging, I mean, finding your one perfect mate in the entire earth’s population, there are Lucifer’s demons out there trying to prevent this from ever happening.

If you are a fan of Sherrilyn Kenyon or J.R. Ward, then this is a new series you will love (and yes, Nicole mentions both authors in this book). It is about Angels, Demons, Vampires, Fey and Wares. It is different from other books you have read but absolutely real, and entertaining. Like I said, I couldn’t put it down and I don’t think you will be able to either.

More Books by Nicole Edwards


Customers Also Bought


Other Books in This Series