• $9.99

Publisher Description

From New York Times bestselling author Cora Carmack, the second in the captivating new YA fantasy/romance Stormheart series, perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Victoria Aveyard.

Princess or adventurer.

Duty or freedom.

Her Kingdom or the Stormhunter she loves.

If Aurora knows anything, it's that choices have consequences. To set things right, she joins a growing revolution on the streets of Pavan.

In disguise as the rebel Roar, she puts her knowledge of the palace to use to aid the rebellion. But the Rage season is at its peak and not a day passes without the skies raining down destruction. Yet these storms are different…they churn with darkness, and attack with a will that’s desperate and violent.

This feels like more than rage.

It feels like war.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2019
August 27
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Tom Doherty Associates
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
4.6
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 8-13

Customer Reviews

Mardelzor ,

A Storm of Wonder

If Roar was a breaking down of Aurora’s character to her most basic parts, Rage is an explosive renaissance in which Aurora accepts herself wholly, including the parts that terrify her, and faces every challenge that is thrown her way. She was a puppet princess before, but now wears an invisible crown and walks her old streets with authority that is earned, not given.

She is not the only character to undergo such a powerful transformation. Within the pages of Rage, we get to see every POV character—Locke, Cassius, Nova—undergo some kind of personal growth as they learn to allow vulnerability, walk in humility, and trust themselves and those around them. Not a single character arc is wasted in this book, and to flip through its pages is to fall in love with all of them in new and beautiful ways.

Love stands out as a theme of this book. Whether it is the love a daughter feels for her mother, the love of a ruler for their city, an individual’s love of power and control, love between friends, romantic love facing new challenges, or the love found in dark places between two comrades that evolves into more, it drives the plot of the book forward and heightens the stakes behind every daring twist.

Cora is a master of tension and pacing, and it shows here better than ever before. As Aurora and the other characters face immediate challenges (how to get into the city, what to do once inside, how to confront minor antagonists), she peppers the rotating POVs with small scenes from the past and whispers in the streets until we, the reader, feel it creeping up the back of our neck: the Stormlord is coming.

It is not an easy task to create a “Big Bad,” most especially when his or her talents extend beyond the human realm and come with powerful magic attached. Some manage to find a decent balance between the overarching, seemingly impossible antagonist and the day-to-day challenges (take J.K. Rowling or the creators of Avatar: The Last Airbender for example). Others, sadly, fall short. But in a similar fashion to the threat posed by the Night King in Game of Thrones, Cora’s characters must quickly decide whether it is better to maintain their political foibles and social squabbles, or to band together against the common and powerful enemy on his way.

At the same time as Cora masters her fictional world, her real world wisdom falls seamlessly into the narrative so that we are blessed with poignant lines like this that make us stop and contemplate, as all good art should. “Aurora still had a great deal to learn, but of one thing she was certain: the value of a person remained unmeasured until they did something worth measuring.”

Aurora inspires me to do something. To be something. To challenge myself and the world around me, and to let go of fear which can grow so easily into something toxic. I cannot encourage you enough to read her journey for yourself and see what you might learn.

Wooky912 ,

Rage

Sappy love story and emotionally sourced magic just makes this entire book fall flat. Might as well add some vampires and werewolves too.

Kenia Rojo ,

Exceeded my Expectations

My expectations for this book was delivered with even more satisfaction then I was anticipating. Cora came back with a vengeance and we are all here for it.

Rage we are brought back to Pavan were Roar has to leave behind her Storm hunter self and face the storm ahead of all the secrets she’s kept and take back her kingdom while still trying to figure out who she is and trying to keep the pieces she’s gathered through her journey with the hunters.

Her character has major growth in my opinion, she’s still reckless but the queen, her people need is starting to shine more and more. She’s joined a rebellion in hopes she can restore her home and take down the evil bad that the Locke’s brought with them. She risks a lot down this path but she gains so much more.

We are left with more questions in the end but I was satisfied with answers we were given. I’m highly highly anticipating the final installment of Aurora’s journey and I’m excited to she how her relationship with Kiran evolves as they move forward.

I’m also very curious to see the development of Cassius’s role in all this with the events we left off on and how this will effect Aurora’s relationship with Kiran and the hunters and especially the rebellion.

I highly recommend this series, it has become one of my favorite series of all time!! Cora delivered!! Through out the book I developed so many theories that I hope to see in book three!!

More Books by Cora Carmack

Other Books in This Series