Resisting Miss Merryweather

    • 4.1 • 90 Ratings
    • $2.99
    • $2.99

Publisher Description

*Desert Isle Keeper*

“A charming, romantic novella that shows how magical life can be with the right person at your side.”

~ Sara @ All About Romance

Sir Barnaby Ware made a mistake two and a half years ago. A massive mistake. The sort of mistake that can never be atoned for.

He knows himself to be irredeemable, but the captivating and unconventional Miss Merryweather is determined to prove him wrong.

The daughter of a dancing master and a noblewoman, Miss Merryweather had an unusual upbringing. She sees things no one else sees—and she says things no one else says.

Sir Barnaby knows he’s the villain in this piece, but Miss Merryweather thinks he’s the hero—and she is damnably hard to resist…

“Larkin has a writing style that I adore, and I wholeheartedly recommend this novella.”

~ Lady Blue @ Romantic Historical Reviews

“A moving story, with characters brimming with life and emotions.”

~ NetGalley Reviewer

Length: Novella of 33,000 words

Sensuality level: A hot Regency romance with steamy love scenes

Q & A with the author

Why did you write this book?

When I finished writing Unmasking Miss Appleby (the first book in the Baleful Godmother series) I was surprised by how sorry I felt for Sir Barnaby. He’d made a dreadful mistake and ruined the most important friendship in his life. I felt Barnaby deserved a chance to redeem himself, so I decided to give him one!

How would you describe this book?

It's a novella about friendship, forgiveness, and falling in love. There’s also a little science, and some magic. Although it’s a companion novella to Unmasking Miss Appleby, it can be read as a standalone.

How would you describe your writing?

Several reviewers have likened my writing to Georgette Heyer, which is the hugest compliment ever. I adore Georgette Heyer! She's why I write historical romance, and I reread her books over and over. (If you've not read The Grand Sophy, please do so!) I've also had readers compare my writing to Courtney Milan and Mary Balogh, which are also massive compliments.

What order should I read the series in?

Each book, whether a novel or novella, can be read as a standalone, but many readers prefer to read them in order. And although the series is set in Regency England, a quartet of medieval novellas form the prequel.

The ideal reading order would be:

The Fey Quartet (series prequel)

Maythorn's Wish

Hazel's Promise

Ivy's Choice

Larkspur's Quest

The Baleful Godmother series

Unmasking Miss Appleby

Resisting Miss Merryweather

Trusting Miss Trentham

Claiming Mister Kemp

Ruining Miss Wrotham

Discovering Miss Dalrymple

Plus more interlinked Baleful Godmother series to come.

Happy reading!

December 5
Emily Larkin
Emily Gee

Customer Reviews

NeogenIsis ,

Unmasking Miss Applebe

Flawless, unique and utterly satisfying. Excellent characters, enticing and Unpredictable plot! Great story. I could go on, but I’ve sincerely said it all.
I rarely write reviews and when I do it’s mor to inform the author of egregious flaws.

This review is to thank the author for a thoroughly fun romp with characters I didn’t want to say goodby to. The good guys were great and the bad guys were villains of the top order.

celticmaggie ,

Resisting Miss Merryweather

This book starts as a sad read. Emily has given us a messy story line to try to figure it out. Barnaby was Marcus's best friend until Marcus's first wife lies to Barnaby and destroys their friendship. Marcus tells him to come to visit him. Barnaby knows he ruined their friendship and wants to turn around and leave. Here he meets Merry, gives her a ride to the house and realizes he isn't leaving. Merry and Charlotte want to see the cave that two boys fell into. Merry also knows that a Fey owes her to be given a gift of her choice when she turns 25. I would recommend this adult book to read. I like this series. I really hope you choose to read this book. Enjoy your reading! I volunteered to read and review this book.

More Books by Emily Larkin


Customers Also Bought


Other Books in This Series