ROMeANTICALLY CHALLENGED

A Perfect RomCom Beach Read

    • 4.2 • 617 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

Amazon Best Romance of the Month 
Publishers Marketplace BuzzBooks: ROMANCE 2020-2021 pick
Fresh Fiction Fresh Pick

“Fun, flirty, and fresh!”
—Jill Shalvis, New York Times bestselling author

 
A witty, sexy, and charming story from the New York Times bestselling author of the St. Helena Vineyard series that fans of Emily Henry, Jen DeLuca, and Kate Clayborn will adore.
 
Growing up the lone Asian in a community of WASPs, Annie has always felt out of place.  Her solution?  Start a family of her own. Not easy when every man she’s dated, including her ex-fiancé, finds “his person” right after breaking up with Annie. Even worse than canceling the wedding eight weeks beforehand?  Learning the “other woman” plans to walk down the aisle wearing her wedding gown. New plan—find a fresh, man-free start. Too bad her exit strategy unexpectedly lands her working at a hospital in Rome, Rhode Island, rather than Rome, Italy, and sharing a cabin with a big, brooding, and annoyingly hot male roommate.
 
Home on medical leave after covering a literally explosive story in China, investigative photojournalist Emmitt embarks on his most important assignment—cementing his place in his daughter’s life. Three men and a baby might work in the movies, but with a stepdad and devoted uncle competing for Paisley’s attention, Emmitt has lost his place at the family table. Then there’s the adorably sexy squatter in his cabin, who poses another problem, one he’d very much like to solve up close and personal. But he can’t win—Annie has sworn off men, Paisley’s gone boy crazy, and Emmitt’s estranged father reappears with a secret that changes everything.
 
Annie and Emmitt are about to discover love comes in many forms, and sometimes the best families are the ones we make.

“Phenomenal…I highly recommend picking up a copy if this novel, it will have you crying, laughing and yelling but most of all you will end with a warm happy feeling that comes from reading a first class novel.”
—Harlequin Junkie, Recommended Read

 
“I cannot fully express how in awe I am with Marina Adair’s ability to create such complex and multi-faceted characters. “
—The Lit Buzz


“Marina Adair is a breath of fresh air…Don't miss a word from this magnificent author!”Darynda Jones, New York Times bestselling author
 
“Fans of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery will enjoy the modern family dynamic and small-town atmosphere.”
—Booklist

 
“An adorable, fun new contemporary romance series. Delightful.”
Library Journal

“A hilarious romantic comedy”
—Bookpage

 
“A delight…entertaining, endearing, and realistic.”
—Frolic

 
"A true gem."
—Fresh Fiction

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2020
July 28
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Kensington Books
SELLER
Kensington Publishing Corp.
SIZE
1.9
MB

Customer Reviews

Caribbeanpiper ,

Great

Unexpected twist and turn

Kimbo1216 ,

Ended up good

I struggle with the entire first half. I felt it dragged quite a bit. But the last third to half brought me in. I was emotionally attached snd felt for Anh and Emmit.

I’m only giving three stars because of the first half and because I struggled with picturing what the author wrote. Like talking about A covering them up and snoring at the same time. There were lots of little contradictory things that just jumbled the picture in my head. It was distracting even when I was crying for these characters.

PalatableDinner ,

RomeAntically Challenged

I liked how this book explored transracial identity and unlearning toxic masculine behaviors. Research is evident in the writing and the author takes the time needed to really develop characters that readers can empathize with. Beckett’s Grumpy Cat shirt is a mood and I need it. However, I did notice a few important typos and the text images weren’t formatted with dark mode in mind, despite it being a common feature of eBook apps.

I wish Annie wasn’t attracted to Emmitt until after he stopped being toxic so it’d feel more authentic and less cliche. Also, Annie went to med school and understands relational power dynamics and the importance of communication, but for some reason thought simply going to a pot luck would magically fill the void within, not understanding that reclaiming her cultural heritage is a huge learning endeavor, and wasn’t already learning Vietnamese despite wanting to in this age of internet and smartphones.

It is also worth noting that the whole “Chinese isn’t a language” is misleading, and a lot more complicated. Whether you consider it a language or not depends on how you define or differentiate language and dialect when there is no hard and fast definition, which would entail at least a surface level understanding of differences and similarities between languages/dialects and their written language, which would likely not be considered “common knowledge” and thus justify ignorance. I.e. Cantonese and Mandarin are considered by some to be dialects because they share a written language, Chinese, whereas others consider them separate languages because they’re phonetically very different, and still others who believe Chinese isn’t a language because it isn’t spoken, completely ignoring the existence of sign language. The list goes on and ultimately boils down to semantics.

It is also my experience that asking if someone speaks Chinese isn’t weird, and whether they’re referring to Mandarin, Cantonese, either or, Toisanese etc is determined by context. I’ve been asked most if I “speak Chinese” by Chinese, often but not always because English is their second language, and I say all this as a product of Chinese diaspora who also struggled with their cultural identity and has been misidentified more than once, like Annie. Evidently enough this whole thing is highly variable from person to person and place to place. The stereotyping though was definitely ignorance.

More Books by Marina Adair

2014
2021
2015
2012
2015
2020

Customers Also Bought

2016
2019
2012
2018
2018
2018

Other Books in This Series