Rooms Rooms

Rooms

A Novel

    • 3.8 • 55 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways.

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2014
September 23
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Ecco
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.1
MB

Customer Reviews

katiebm88 ,

Absolute treasure

Really wonderful book I read on a whim!

More Books Like This

When Things Get Dark When Things Get Dark
2021
Echoes Echoes
2019
The Fall of Never The Fall of Never
2017
New Fears New Fears
2017
The Good House The Good House
2003
Why I Don't Write Why I Don't Write
2020

More Books by Lauren Oliver

Delirium Delirium
2011
Before I Fall Before I Fall
2010
Pandemonium Pandemonium
2012
Requiem Requiem
2013
Panic Panic
2014
Hana Hana
2012

Customers Also Bought

Winterbay Abbey Winterbay Abbey
2016
The Grip of It The Grip of It
2017
The Sky Is Yours The Sky Is Yours
2018
Night Asylum Night Asylum
2012
The Remaking The Remaking
2019
The Dead House The Dead House
2018