Saint X Saint X

Saint X

A Novel

    • 3.7 • 303 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

A New York Times Notable Book of 2020, now a Hulu Original Series!

"'Saint X' is hypnotic. Schaitkin's characters...are so intelligent and distinctive it feels not just easy, but necessary, to follow them. I devoured [it] in a day."
–Oyinkan Braithwaite, New York Times Book Review

When you lose the person who is most essential to you, who do you become?

Recommended by Entertainment Weekly, included in Good Morning America's 20 Books We're Excited for in 2020 & named as one of Vogue's Best Books to Read This Winter, Bustle's Most Anticipated Books of February 2020, and O Magazine's 14 of the Best Books to Read This February!

Hailed as a “marvel of a book” and “brilliant and unflinching,” Alexis Schaitkin’s stunning debut, Saint X, is a haunting portrait of grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters never truly given the chance to know one another.

Claire is only seven years old when her college-age sister, Alison, disappears on the last night of their family vacation at a resort on the Caribbean island of Saint X. Several days later, Alison’s body is found in a remote spot on a nearby cay, and two local menemployees at the resortare arrested. But the evidence is slim, the timeline against it, and the men are soon released. The story turns into national tabloid news, a lurid mystery that will go unsolved. For Claire and her parents, there is only the return home to broken lives.

Years later, Claire is living and working in New York City when a brief but fateful encounter brings her together with Clive Richardson, one of the men originally suspected of murdering her sister. It is a moment that sets Claire on an obsessive pursuit of the truthnot only to find out what happened the night of Alison’s death but also to answer the elusive question: Who exactly was her sister? At seven, Claire had been barely old enough to know her: a beautiful, changeable, provocative girl of eighteen at a turbulent moment of identity formation.

As Claire doggedly shadows Clive, hoping to gain his trust, waiting for the slip that will reveal the truth, an unlikely attachment develops between them, two people whose lives were forever marked by the same tragedy.

For readers of Emma Cline’s The Girls and Lauren Groff’s Fates and Furies, Saint X is a flawlessly drawn and deeply moving story that culminates in an emotionally powerful ending.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
February 18
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Celadon Books
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
7.2
MB

Customer Reviews

User171741 ,

Not Your Standard Murder Mystery

This book is a beautifully written story about all of the people impacted by the death of a young girl. The core story seems like a premise for another murder mystery. A teenager is found dead at a luxury resort, and decades later, her sister seeks to find out what happened. But this book is so much more than a murder mystery.

It’s told from the perspective of many of the people who were present at the resort when the young girl was found and how this event impacted their lives. From her sister, to the accused, to guests who were simply at the resort at the time of her death. While is it a story about a young woman’s search for the truth, it is also one about finding closure and peace to traumas of the past.

Patsy82 ,

Skip this one

Boring, the book went on and on about things that wasn’t even relevant to the story, I thought the book was going to be about the main character finding out what happened to her sister, but it was more about the main characters day to day life which was mainly her befriending a man who she thought had something to do with her sisters death. The ending was also a let down it didn’t really make things final.

girlguts ,

Sloooo

Ooooow. The first few chapters are great. The rest of the book is so wordy and slow, when something significant happens it has taken so long it ends up anticlimactic. Could have been cut in half and been a great book. I forced myself to finish because I wanted to know, but found myself begging for it to be over.

More Books Like This

Buzz Books 2018: Spring/Summer Buzz Books 2018: Spring/Summer
2018
Buzz Books 2019: Spring/Summer Buzz Books 2019: Spring/Summer
2018
The Best American Short Stories 2017 The Best American Short Stories 2017
2017
The Best Short Stories 2021 The Best Short Stories 2021
2021
The O. Henry Prize Stories 2014 The O. Henry Prize Stories 2014
2014
The O. Henry Prize Stories 100th Anniversary Edition (2019) The O. Henry Prize Stories 100th Anniversary Edition (2019)
2019

More Books by Alexis Schaitkin

Elsewhere Elsewhere
2022
Saint X Saint X
2020
Autre part Autre part
2024
Un si joli nulle part Un si joli nulle part
2022
Saint X Saint X
2021
Saint X Saint X
2020

Customers Also Bought

Who is Maud Dixon? Who is Maud Dixon?
2021
White Ivy White Ivy
2020
The Turnout The Turnout
2021
The Disappearing Act The Disappearing Act
2021
I Have Some Questions for You I Have Some Questions for You
2023
The Red Lotus The Red Lotus
2020