• $13.99

Publisher Description

"'Saint X' is hypnotic. Schaitkin's characters...are so intelligent and distinctive it feels not just easy, but necessary, to follow them. I devoured [it] in a day."
–Oyinkan Braithwaite, New York Times Book Review

"A smart, socially conscious thriller that will take you away."
People Magazine, Book of the Week

When you lose the person who is most essential to you, who do you become?

Recommended by Entertainment Weekly, included in Good Morning America's 20 Books We're Excited for in 2020 & named as one of Vogue's Best Books to Read This Winter, Bustle's Most Anticipated Books of February 2020, and O Magazine's 14 of the Best Books to Read This February!

Hailed as a “marvel of a book” and “brilliant and unflinching,” Alexis Schaitkin’s stunning debut, Saint X, is a haunting portrait of grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters never truly given the chance to know one another.

Claire is only seven years old when her college-age sister, Alison, disappears on the last night of their family vacation at a resort on the Caribbean island of Saint X. Several days later, Alison’s body is found in a remote spot on a nearby cay, and two local menemployees at the resortare arrested. But the evidence is slim, the timeline against it, and the men are soon released. The story turns into national tabloid news, a lurid mystery that will go unsolved. For Claire and her parents, there is only the return home to broken lives.

Years later, Claire is living and working in New York City when a brief but fateful encounter brings her together with Clive Richardson, one of the men originally suspected of murdering her sister. It is a moment that sets Claire on an obsessive pursuit of the truthnot only to find out what happened the night of Alison’s death but also to answer the elusive question: Who exactly was her sister? At seven, Claire had been barely old enough to know her: a beautiful, changeable, provocative girl of eighteen at a turbulent moment of identity formation.

As Claire doggedly shadows Clive, hoping to gain his trust, waiting for the slip that will reveal the truth, an unlikely attachment develops between them, two people whose lives were forever marked by the same tragedy.

For readers of Emma Cline’s The Girls and Lauren Groff’s Fates and Furies, Saint X is a flawlessly drawn and deeply moving story that culminates in an emotionally powerful ending.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
February 18
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Celadon Books
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
6
MB

Customer Reviews

User171741 ,

Not Your Standard Murder Mystery

This book is a beautifully written story about all of the people impacted by the death of a young girl. The core story seems like a premise for another murder mystery. A teenager is found dead at a luxury resort, and decades later, her sister seeks to find out what happened. But this book is so much more than a murder mystery.

It’s told from the perspective of many of the people who were present at the resort when the young girl was found and how this event impacted their lives. From her sister, to the accused, to guests who were simply at the resort at the time of her death. While is it a story about a young woman’s search for the truth, it is also one about finding closure and peace to traumas of the past.

Shelly92084 ,

Saint X

I have been seeing this book ALL over social media and it has been getting rave reviews so of course I had to request a copy. When I started to read the book I had a hard time focusing and since it was an anticipated read I decided to check out the audio book instead. I was able to enjoy the story better with the audio but I felt the book was overly descriptive and wordy. The chapters were so long and I would lose focus a lot while listening. Then we have all of these different points of views that in my opinion not all were needed. This book is billed as a thriller and it didn't give off a thriller vibe at all. It was VERY slow going. Then we finally get to the reasoning behind Allison's murder I found that to lackluster and anti-climatic. I had a lot of hope for this book and sadly it didn't work out in my favor.

KLM4030 ,

So slow, so wordy.

The start of this book was great and then it just slowed down page after page. Struggled to make it through. It was so wordy, the entire novel could have been edited in half and still retained the plot and the point of it all.

More Books by Alexis Schaitkin